Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Office of the Dean, Graduate College
RG 12.01
Collection Dates:
104.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Graduate College at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.










Box Contents List

Office of the Dean records; 103.0 ft.

Administrative Records; 1.0 ft.

Records include:

Box 1:

General information

Box 2:

Iowa Graduate Experience

Box 3:


Box 4:

Graduate College Bulletins

Box 5:


Graduate College Newspaper

Box 6:

The Graduate Experience


Box 7:

Manual of Rules and Regulations of the Graduate College

Box 8:


Box 9:

Annual Report Folders

Box 10:


Box 11:


Box 12:

Report, 1936-1937 - 1951-1952

Box 13:


Box 14:

Administrative Records, 1964-1972

Box 15:

----. 1964-1972

Box 16:

Final Exam, 1923-1929

Box 17:

----. 1923-1933 (excludes 1924)

Box 18:

----. 1934-1939

Box 19:

----. 1940-1946

Box 20:

Candidates for Advanced Degrees, 1901-1946

Box 21:

Graduate faculty

Box 22:

Council minutes, 1954-1969

Faculty meeting minutes, 1918-1969

Box 23:

Graduate Council

Research programs, 1950-1965

Box 24:

Research professorships, 1953-1960

Leaves of absence

Old Gold Fellowships (early material)

Box 25:

Research professorships, 1959-1964

Box 26:

----. 1964-1966

Faculty research leaves, 1967-1968

Former research professors and Old Gold Fellows

Summary of 73 research professors appointed 1953-1964

Box 27:

Faculty leave, 1966-1967

Summer fellowships, 1962-1964

Box 28:

Summer fellowships, 1965-1968

Box 29:

Graduate Manual rewrite, 1966

Committee on Institutional Cooperation



Foreign language requirements, 1948-1949

GPA for graduate students

Graduate Credit Survey


Tools of Research


Graduate College Manual preparation file

Box 30:

Project on Rhetoric of Inquiry (POROI), POROI Inquirer