Theses and Dissertations Collection
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials are transferred to the University Archives from the Graduate College on a continuing basis. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.
Box Contents List
Collection consists of master's level theses from 1886 to the present, as approved by the Graduate College; Ph.D. dissertations from 1900 to 1951. Arranged by Cutter number. Formats: bound volume, microfilm, loose-leaf. Folio and non-traditional format theses and dissertations (CDs, videotapes, motion picture film, etc.) are stored in a separate area adjacent to the other formats.
Engineering bachelors theses are a separate collection as RG 10.07; arranged alphabetically by author's name.
For more information about borrowing a University of Iowa thesis or dissertation, visit our online resource guide.