Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the College of Homeopathic Medicine
RG 13
Collection Dates: 1887-1919
3.75 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Records of the College of Homeopathic Medicine were transferred to the University Archives at various times, including a part of Accession 2007-06. Collection processed by David McCartney, February 2007. Guide posted to the Internet February 2007.


Weekly hospital report, April 25, 1896
From the Weekly Hospital Reports

Scope and Contents

The records of the College of Homeopathic Medicine consist of case records, faculty minutes, and other materials. Documents are arranged in chronological order within each series. Publications of the College (announcements, bulletins, and annual reports) are in Archives cataloged serials as "Announcement - College of Homeopathy." The College existed from 1876 until 1919.

Related Materials

Papers of Dr. George Royal (RG 99.0257)

Publications of James G. Gilchrist

Cone, Carl B. "The College of Homeopathic Medicine." In his "History of the State University of Iowa : The College of Medicine," pp. 279-299, notes. Iowa City, 1941. Hardin; Archives.

Persons, Stow. "The Decline of Homeopathy--The University of Iowa, 1876-1919." Bulletin of the History of Medicine 65 (spring 1991): 74-87, notes. Hardin; Historical Papers Collection in Archives (RG 01.01.03).

Box Contents List

Box 1

Homeopathic Weekly Hospital Reports, 1895-96

----. 1896-97

----. 1897-98

----. 1898-99

----. 1899-1900

----. 1901-02

----. 1902-03

----. 1903-04

----. 1904-05

----. 1905-06

Proving of the O.O. & L. Society, n.d.:

Preliminary Examination of the Nose and Throat

Examination of the Blood

Bacteriological Examination

Preliminary Examination of the Ears

Routine Functional Examination (Chest)

Record of the Students' Standing on Examinations, 1878-91

Secretary's Book - Homeopathic Hospital Association minutes, 1887-95

List of physicians in Iowa, n.d.

Lecture notes, n.d.

Box 2

Superintendent's Record - University Homeopathic Hospital, March 29, 1917 - June 29, 1919

Oversize box 1

Records of Clinic, Homeopathic Department (one ledger), 1887-1900

Outpatient Record, Homeopathic Department, 1914-19

Homeopathic case records, 1916-19

Faculty minutes, 1906-15