Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Keokuk Medical and Dental Schools
RG 15.03
Collection Dates: 1850-1913
1.75 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the College of Medicine on an undetermined date. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Photographs: Box 1, in yearbooks









Related Materials

Some academic records of students who attended the Keokuk institutions may be housed at the UI Office of the Registrar.  Contact the office for more information at


Box Contents List

Box 1

folder - "Report of the Dean of the Faculty of the Medical Department of the Iowa State University, November 30, 1854" - copied by hand at undetermined later date

Class 1900 yearbook (2 copies)

The Chieftain - Keokuk Medical College yearbook - 1907 (2 copies)

The Collegian - Keokuk Medical College of Physicians and Surgeons yearbook - 1908 (2 copies)

Box 2

1 bound volume - Articles of Incorporation, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Keokuk, Iowa; stockholders' minutes, 1881-82, 1890, 1892, 1898, 1899

1 bound volume - Keokuk Medical College Treasurer Reports, 1897-1908/09

1 bound volume - Articles of Incorporation of the Keokuk Medical College, 1890; Minutes of faculty and annual meetings, 1890-1913

Box 3 (alumni)

Graduate/alumni lists for 1849-1875, 1880/81, 1890-99, 1900-1907/08 (medical), 1899-1908 (dental)

Box 4

1 bound volume - Keokuk Medical Society Constitution, By-laws, and Proceedings, 1850-1878