Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the College of Nursing
RG 16
Collection Dates:
28.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Preliminary processing was completed in 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Box Contents List

Box 1

Accreditation, alumnae

Box 2

Alumnae, inventory, annual reports, administrative, curriculum committee

Box 3

Curriculum committees, executive committee, executive council

Box 4

Faculty affairs, faculty association, faculty minutes

Box 5

Faculty minutes, graduate council

Box 6

Graduate council, graduate curriculum community, graduate faculty, miscellaneous committees

Box 7

Doctoral program, miscellaneous committees, other nursing schools (many of them in Iowa), Iowa Association of Colleges of Nursing, community health

Box 8

Community health (includes Iowa Soldiers’ Home and Muscatine), correspondence

Box 9

Correspondence, curriculum

Box 10

Current issues in nursing, graduate seminar, deans (Dustan, etc.), faculty

Box 11


Box 12

Faculty, policies, committees, programs

Box 13

Iowa Board of Nursing, W.K. Kellogg Foundation

Box 14

W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Nursing Service Administration

Box 15

Building dedication, named memorial awards, faculty vacancy requests, UI hospital nursing service, students, miscellaneous

Additional boxes

Nursing minutes and commencements

Student Nurses Organization

Nurses Alumnae Association

Publications and printed matter

Advanced Maternal and Child Health Nursing

Nursing News and Nursing Alumnae Journals


"Iowa Nursing Network" (in College of Nursing box)

College of Nursing FACTS (in Nursing box)