Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory
RG 20.04
Collection Dates: 1909-1990
9.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of Biological Sciences at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.










Related Materials

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG 30.01.01), Series I (Prints), Sub-series Colleges and Departments and Sub-series Scenes.

Baker, Debby Zieglowsky. "Eighty Years of Research at Iowa Lakeside Laboratory: A Bibliography." Journal of the Iowa Academy of Science 97 (December 1990): 190-199.

Bovbjerg, Richard V., Martin J. Ulmer, and John C. Downey. The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory: Its Past, Present, and Potentials for the Future. N.p., 1974. 69, 139 pp.

Nuss, Elizabeth Frances. "History of the State University of Iowa: The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1946. 161 pp.

Zieglowsky, Debby J. "Thomas Macbride's Dream: Iowa Lakeside Laboratory." Palimpsest 66 (March-April 1985): 42-56, 61-65, illus.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence files, including brochures and photos in “bulletins and publicity” folder, 1940s-60s

Box 2

----. Includes bulletins scattered throughout chronologically-arranged files, 1960s-80s

Box 3


Box 4

----. Includes one folder containing alumni lists up to about 1990

Box 5

Includes 1950s newsletters, 1991-92 letters of support in response to Legislature’s threat to close the lab (closure did not happen)

Box 6

Correspondence files

Box 7

Articles, bulletins and brochures promoting the lab, 1909 (first announcement) to 1990

Box 8

Additional 1991-92 support letters

Box 9

“Okoboji Dredgings” newsletter, 1989-92

Box 10

Includes 1910 articles of incorporation (first folder), early director’s reports (1920’s), correspondence including Bohumil Shimek

Box 11

Includes minutes and committee reports, 1920’s