Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 (Iowa 2000)
RG 20.05
Collection Dates: 1974-1978
1.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1982; processed by Earl M. Rogers 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Iowa Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000 (or Iowa 2000) Records, as maintained by the University of Iowa Institute of Public Affairs, were transferred by the Institute to the University of Iowa Archives in 1982. The records consist of three document boxes.

The records include correspondence on the conferences, files and reports from them, resulting publications, and speeches by UI President Willard 'Sandy' Boyd, U.S. Rep. John C. Culver, and Gov. Robert D. Ray, as well as by James Hearst, Charles J. Hitch, Marvin Pomerantz, Alvin Toffler, and W. Willard Wirtz. At the University of Iowa, program coordinators were (or included) Penny K. Davidsen and Jean Lloyd-Jones. A theme song (copyright) is included, in paper and phonodisc formats.

Historical Note

Iowa 2000 was a series of planning conferences proposed by then-U.S. Representative John C. Culver in 1972. Governor Robert D. Ray appointed a planning committee with University of Iowa President Willard L. Boyd as chair. Regional meetings culminated in statewide conferences held at Simpson College, 1974, the University of Iowa, 1977, and Iowa State University, 1978. The futures of Iowa's economics, resources, and society were discussed.

Related Materials

The Papers of John C. Culver, MsC 810, include reference to the Iowa 2000 conference in the Subject Files series, Futures subseries.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence, Committee


Iowa congressional delegation

Miscellaneous in-state


Boyd, Willard

Crom, Bob

Everett, Beverly

Farrell, Carolyn

Mullins, Sue

Mutel, Connie

Osman, John

Ringgenberg, Clayton

Soth, Lauren

TePaske, Maurice

Turner, William F.

1974 Conferences, Task force summary report (blue book)

Regional conferences

Millhone compilation of regional reports

Economic development


Life enhancement

Natural resources

First general session, June 13, 1974; Toffler speech

Box 2

1974 Conferences, cont.

Third general session, June 14, 1974

Final report

Proposal for continuation, 1975

People committee, 1976 proposal

1977 conferences, The Time of Our Lives, trends analysis booklet, preliminary

The Time of Our Lives, booklet

Regional meetings procedure

Al-Mon-Co, Albia

Central, Indianola

East Central, Cedar Rapids

North Central, Mason City

Northeast, Dubuque

Northwest, Sioux City

Southeast, Mt. Pleasant

Southwest, Council Bluffs

West Central, Fort Dodge

Commonwealth Conference

Commonwealth Conference speeches (includes Culver, Ray, and Wirtz)

Group l, Agricultural Organizations

Group 2, The Arts and Other Cultural Institutions

Group 3, Churches

Group 4, Educational Institutions

Group 5, The Family, the Individual, and the Single Person

Group 6, Health Institutions

Group 7, Labor and Business (includes Pomerantz)

Group 8, Local Governments and Communities

Box 3

1977 conferences, cont.

Group 9, The Media

Group 10, Political Organizations and Citizens Groups

Group 11, Public and Private Social Services and Other Volunteer Organizations

Group 12, Recreation and Leisure Industries and Organizations

Group 13, State and Federal Governments, The Division of Responsibilities

A Perspective of Iowa 2000, The Time of Our Lives

Iowans comment about Iowa 2000

1978 conference, Land, Water and Energy, includes Hearst and Kitch


Speeches, Willard L. Boyd

Speeches, Robert D. Ray

Theme song and phonodiscs, copyright

The Times, June 2, 2000 (sic)