Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Gerontology Institute
RG 27.16
Collection Dates: 1945-1971
6.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Institute of Gerontology prior to 1977. Collection processed by Earl M. Rogers in August 1977; addendum in July/August 1989. Guide posted to the Internet March 2005; updated January 2008.










Scope and Contents

The records contain correspondence, subject files, and Institute publications. The Institute of Gerontology correspondence files are dated 1945-1971, and focus on services for the elderly in Iowa, a leading state in percentage of population over age 65. The correspondence is with various private, state, and federal agencies in Iowa, and with agencies of other states. Some of the correspondence revolves around conferences and courses at the Institute. Other subjects are the condition of nursing homes in Iowa, and the establishment of a permanent state Commission on the Aging.

The correspondence includes many letters to or from staff members Mabel I. Edwards, Steven M. Horvath, and Woodrow Wilbert Morris. Mabel I. Edwards served as Research Associate for 18 years, and was editor of the bulletin, Adding Life to Years. Steven M. Horvath was Professor of Physiology in the UI College of Medicine 1949-1957, and the first Director of the Gerontology Institute. Woodrow Wilbert Morris succeeded Horvath as director in 1957, and was Associate Dean for Medical Student Affairs of the College of Medicine from 1949 until his retirement in 1984. As Director, Dr. Morris served on the National Citizen's Advisory Committee for the White House Conference on Aging in 1961, and was instrumental in the passage of the law to establish a permanent Commission on the Aging in Iowa in 1965.

Several folders contain material about Iowa governors and U.S. representatives and senators, but they do not necessarily contain correspondence from these people. Some letters to or from U.S. senators of Iowa and other states are in the folders labeled "U.S. legislature" and "U.S. Senate." A letter from Edward M. Kennedy, for example, dated July 17, 1967 is in a Woodrow W. Morris folder, and a John R. Schmidhauser letter is in the "S" folder.

Historical Note

The University of Iowa Institute of Gerontology was established in September 1953, and closed in 1971 - along with other programs - due to a state budget shortfall. The Institute coordinated faculty activities and reported them to the citizens of Iowa for the purpose of improving the lives of Iowa's aging population. The center also prepared students for work in the field of gerontology.

Related Materials

Papers of Robert Donald Blue (MsC 466)

Folder, "Morris, Woodrow W.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Horvath, Steven M.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Edwards, Mabel I.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List


Box 1

1 A

2 Adult education

3 American Association of Homes for the Aging

4 American Association of Retired Persons

5 American Nursing Home Association

6-A Annual Conference, 2nd

6-B ----. 4th

7 ----. 6th

8 ----. 7th

9 ----. 8th

10 Annual reports

11 B

12 Barringer, K. D.

13 Basic Aspects of Gerontology

14 Bechill, W. D.

15 Benshoof, H.L.

16 Berger, Fred

17 Birren, James

18 Blue, Robert D.

19 Bowen, H. R.

20 Boyd, W. L.

21 Budget

22 Burlington Senior Citizens Project

23 C

24 Carstenson, Blue

25 Centenarians

26 Church and Its Older Adults

27 Citizens Advisory Committee

Box 2

1 Coder, W. D.

2 College of Nursing

3 Complaints

4 Comprehensive Mental Health Plan

5 Council of State Governments

6 County homes

7 Courses

8 Culley, Jack

9 D

10 Dakin, Allin

11 Davis, Harvey H.

12 Davis, Laura

13 Donahue, Wilma

14 Dreier, W. H.

15 Duke University

16 E

17 Easter Seal project

18 Edwards, Mabel

19 Emeritus Association

20 ----. annual reports

21 ----. meetings

22 Erbe, Norman

23 Establishment of Institute

24 Extension services

25 F

Box 3

1 Fleming, R. W.

2 Ford Foundation

3 G

4 General information

5 Geriatrics magazine

6 Gerontological Society

7 Gifts, grants, etc.

8 Golden Age Cooperative Board, Ames

9 Governor Hoegh's Committee on Aging

10 Governor's Advisory Committee on the Aging

11 Governor's Commission on Aging

12 ----. Committee on Education

13 H

14 Hancher, Virgil M.

15 History

16 Hoegh, Leo A.

17 Hoffman, Adeline

18 Homemakers

19 Horvath, S. M.

20 Hughes, Harold E.

21 I

22 Iowa bill establishing Commission on Aging

23 Iowa Commission for Senior Citizens

Box 4

1 Iowa Commission on the Aging

2 Iowa Council for Community Improvement

3 Iowa Council of Churches

4 Iowa Nursing Home Association

5 Iowa Pharmaceutical Association

6 Iowa Research Center on Aging

7 Iowa Society of Christian Churches (Disciples)

8 Iowa State Manpower Development Council

9 Iowa Study Committee on Care of Aging

10 J

11 K

12 Kann, D. E.

13 L

14 Loehwing, Walter F.

15 Loveless, Herschel

16 M

17 Martel, Martin

18 Mayflower Home, Grinnell

19 Methodist Church Board of Education

20 Miller, Jack

21 Morris, Woodrow W. 1954 -- 1967

Box 5

1 Morris, Woodrow W. 1968 -- 1971

2 Morris, Woodrow W., Masonic

3 Muthard, J. E.

4 N

5 National Institutes of Health (N.I.H.)

6 National Committee on the Aging

7 National Council on the Aging

8 Non Profit Homes of Iowa

9 Nursing and Retirement Home Administration

10 Nursing and retirement home course

11 Nursing home licensure

12 ----. advisory committee

13 ----. Professional Examination Service

14 ----. quarterly report, 1st

15 ----. quarterly report, 2nd

16 ----. quarterly report, 3rd

Box 6

Nursing home licensure, cont.

1 ----. quarterly report, 4th

2 ----. quarterly report, 5th

3 ----. quarterly report, 6th

4 O

5 Old Gold Development Fund

6 Old Gold fund proposal

7 P

8 Planned Action for Community Elderly, Des Moines

9 Part-time retired personnel

10 Physical Plant

11 Plans

12 Polk County chronic illness survey

13 Proposed adult welfare research station

14 Prospectus for a department of the medical social sciences

15 Questionnaire

16 R

17 Ray, Robert D. (governor)

18 Ray, Robert F. (dean)

19 Recreation Challenge to Nursing Homes

20 Research project grants

21 Retirement homes in Iowa

22 Riley, Tom

23 Riverton Happy Neighbors Club

24 S

25 Scott County Homemaker Service

26 Senate hearing

27 Shambaugh, Jessie Field

28 Shock, Nathan

29 Sioux City Homemaker Services

30 Speer, Dorcas

Box 7

1 Staff Training Institute

2 State Plan Guide

3 T

4 Talle, Henry O.

5 Television program

6 Tibbitts, Clark

7 Tompkins, Clarence

8 U.S. Administration on Aging

9 U.S. Internal Revenue Service

10 U.S. officials

11 U.S. Public Health Service

12 U.S. Senate

13 University Advisory Committee

14 University Relations

15 Volunteer programs

16 W

17 Wahl, Amelia

18 Wellborne, W. L. R.

19 Workshops

20 Zemlicka, Pearl

Box 8

Printed Material (Incomplete)

1 Bibliographies, 1961 -- 1968 (A -- Selected references on D)

2 ----. 1961 -- 1968 (Selected references on H -- R)

3 Conferences, 1952 -- 1965

4 Geri-Activity Bulletin, Des Moines, 1969 -- 1970

5 Iowa Associated Groups of Elderly (AGE), Des Moines, 1969, 1970

6 Nursing and Retirement Home Administration, 1963 -- 1970

7 Syllabi in Nursing Home Administration, 1970 (1 -- 3)

8 ----. (4 -- 5, 8)

9 ----. (11 -- 13)

Box 9

1 Speeches, 1961 -- 1970

2 Seven near-print items, 1957 -- 1969