Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of Oakdale Sanatorium
RG 27.20
Collection Dates: 1920-2001
20.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The records were transferred from Oakdale Hall to the University Archives in 2001. Finding aid released May 2010.

Photographs: Box 1









Scope and Contents

The Records of Oakdale Sanatorium include photographs, newsletters, and patient council meeting minutes. The collection does not include patient records; these are maintained by University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

Historical Note

The Oakdale Sanatorium was established in 1907 by the State of Iowa in response to a growing tuberculosis epidemic. Over the next 70 years the facility was used to house patients in need of a variety of treatments.

Related Materials

Edwards, J.A. and Sadie Seagrave. "A Brief History of the State Sanatorium at Oakdale, Iowa." Unpublished typescript, n.d. 18 pp. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

Spear, Mrs. William and Basil Waddington. "A Brief History of Oakdale." Unpublished typescript. 7 pp., addenda. Oakdale Sanatorium. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

Spear, William. "Early History of State Sanatorium of Iowa." Unpublished typescript, n.d. 2 pp. Oakdale Sanatorium. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

Swaim, Ginalie. "Tuberculosis: The White Plague in Iowa." Iowa Heritage Illustrated 86, no. 2 (summer 2005): 72-73, illus. Notes Oakdale Sanatorium.

Walsh, Tom. "Community Health." Iowa Alumni Quarterly 50, no. 1 (spring 1997): 34-37, illus. Oakdale tuberculosis sanitarium.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Building summary prepared June 30, 1991, including articles and newspaper clippings

Binder 1: Photographs of campus, social events. 1927-1963

Binder 2: Photographs of staff. 1950-1960

Binder 3: Photographs of campus, staff; includes 1998 history of Oakdale, no author. 1950-1998

Binder 4: Photographs. 1920-1940

Binder 5: Photographs. 1945-2001; bulk 1945-1960

Binder 6: Photographs. 1945-1953

Binder 7: William Spear, M.D., retirement album. 1968

Box 2

Patient Council meeting minutes. 1949-1955

----. 1955-1958

----. 1958-1960

----. 1960-1963

----. 1963-1967

State Sanatorium Annual Report. 1943

The Stethoscope newsletter. 1930, 1958-1969 (incomplete)

Oversize boxes 1-14

Unprocessed; include employee payroll records