Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Board in Control of Athletics
RG 28.03.05
Collection Dates: 1902 -
8.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the Board in Control of Athletics have been transferred to the University Archives by the creating office at various times. Minutes and other records continue to accrue on a periodic basis. Guide posted to the Internet in July 2009.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Records of the Board in Control of Athletics consist of three series: Financial Records, Minutes, and Administrative. The Minutes series is the most complete portion of the collection, documenting the Board's activity nearly continuously since its inception in 1902.

Historical Note

The Board in Control of Athletics, later renamed the Presidential Committee on Athletics, was established in 1902 as a means to govern the University of Iowa's participation in intercollegiate athletics. According to its charter, it is the advisory committee for the University President and the Director of Athletics on policies governing the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics consistent with the rules of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletics Association and consistent with the policies of the University, the Board of Regents, and the State of Iowa. In addition to its duty to advise and recommend policies to the University President and Athletics Director, the Committee periodically apprises the faculty, staff, and student constituency organizations of the status of athletics at the University and nationally.

Related Materials

Gilson, James Edward. "Changing Student Lifestyle at the University of Iowa, 1880-1900." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1980. 392 pp. Dissertation Abstracts International 41: 1664-A.

Gimbel, John. "A History of the State University of Iowa: Physical Education and Athletics for Men." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1951. 458 pp. Discusses the 1920-1950 period.

Meinhard, Robert Wilson. "History of the State University of Iowa: Physical Education and Athletics for Men." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1947. 194 pp. Discusses the 1860-1920 period.

Subject Vertical Files, Athletics category, "Board in Control of Athletics" folder. RG 01.15.05.

Voltmer, Carl D. A Brief History of the Intercollegiate Conference of Faculty Representatives, with a Special Consideration of Athletic Problems. New York, 1935.

Box Contents List

Series I: Financial Records

Oversize Box 1:

1907-1910, 1914-1917, 1922.

Box 1:

June 30, 1922-June 30, 1959.

Box 2:

June 30, 1960-June 30, 1976.

Series II: Minutes

Box 1:


Box 2:

1920-1924; 1929-1941.

Box 3:


Box 4:


Box 5:


Box 6:


Box 7:


Box 8:


Box 9:


Box 10:


Box 11:

2006-     .

Series III: Administrative

Box 1:

Annual reports, 1994 - (incomplete)

Articles of Incorporation, studies, and reports.

Box 2:

Reports, policies, and member notes.