Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the University of Iowa Foundation
RG 28.04
Collection Dates: 1956-
5.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the University of Iowa Foundation at various times. Collection processed by Wayne Rawley. Guide posted to the Internet December 2007.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Records of the University of Iowa Foundation contain materials from the founding of the Foundation in 1956 to the present. They are arranged into four series: Administrative, Publications, Fundraising, and President's Club. Annual reports are catalogued separately (see Related Material note below).

Historical Note

The UI Foundation was established in 1956 as the preferred channel for private gifts to the Universtiy of Iowa. By raising funds beyond those available through state appropriations, tuition payments, contracts or from other non-gift sources, the UI Foundation provides the University with a margin of distinction in fulfilling its mission of excellence in teaching, research and service.

The mission of the UI Foundation is to maximize private gift support for the University while continuously laying the groundwork for future fundraising success, in order to aid the University in fulfilling its own mission.

Independent from the Universtiy of Iowa and a nonprofit IRC Sec. 501(c)(3) organization, the UI Foundation achieves its fundraising objectives through annual giving programs, planned gifts, and capital and other special purpose campaigns. The University President and central administrators recommend fundraising priorities to the Foundation's volunteer Board of Directors, which elects officers, appoints staff, and monitors Foundation policies and staff activities.

Related Material

Annual reports of the UI Foundation, listed in online catalog under the following titles and located in Archives' cataloged section:

Annual Report : Old Gold Development Fund

Annual Report : State University of Iowa Foundation

Annual Report : University of Iowa Foundation

Annual Report of Private Gift Support for the Universityof Iowa : University of Iowa Foundation

Annual Report of the University of Iowa Foundation

Annual Report on Giving to the University of Iowa Foundation

Papers of Darrell D. Wyrick (RG 99.0007)

Box Contents List

Box 1


Board Minutes; Bylaws; Articles of Incorporation; 1956-1965

Correspondence; 1956-1964

Financial Audits: two folders: 1957-1960; 1963, 1968, 1970

Press Releases and Press Clippings

Box 2


Newsletters: Bridges, Issue 1, April 1987-Issue 15, August 1992

----. Quarterly Review, 1973 (Autumn)-1989 (Fall-Winter)

----. Bridges, Autumn 1997-Spring 2002

----. Imagine, Winter 2000-Spring 2004

----. News, 2002 (?)-2004

----. Advancing Iowa, August 2004-March 2007

Calendars: 1972-1973; 1977-1980

Box 3

Fundraising: General

General solicitations: letters; brochures (two folders); 1956-2001

Box 4

Fundraising: Named Campaigns

Old Gold Development Fund: Faculty Drive, 1962-1963

Old Gold Development Fund: Council Minutes, 1955-1962

----. 1963-1966

Old Gold Development Fund: Gifts to the U. I. Libraries, 1959-1964

Old Gold Development Fund: Miscellaneous, 1955-1963

----. 1964

Box 5

Art Gallery; 1964-1969

Good, Better, Best, Iowa; 2002-2006

Hawkeye Arena/Recreation; 1980

Iowa Endowment 2000 (three folders); 1984-1991

Iowa Hall; 1982

Old Capitol Restoration; 1973

Box 6

President's Club

Correspondence, 1997-2006

Annual assemblies; 1974-1983, 1988, 2003

Solicitation brochures

Box 7

President's Club Annual Reports, 1971-1978

----. 1979-1984

----. 1985-1988; 1992