Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Iowa Memorial Union Collection of Photographs
RG 30.01.14
Collection Dates: 1924-1980
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Photographs: Entire collection

Iowa Memorial Union groundbreaking, October 1924

Iowa Memorial Union east entrance, ca. 1945
Top: Iowa Memorial Union groundbreaking, October 1924
Above: IMU east entrance, ca. 1945

Box Contents List

Box 1

About 200 images; construction of IMU Units I and II; completed areas also featured following opening. 1924-1926.

Box 2

About 110 images ranging in size from 5x7 to 10x14, interior and exterior views of IMU; 1924-1980. Ballroom and dance scenes, information desk, bowling, weddings, military ceremonies, sculptures and other artwork, Triangle Club lounge, dining services, construction, Silver Shadow social club.

Box 3

Seven mounted images of IMU dining rooms, 1950s.