Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Leon Anthony Sanders Collection of Photographs
RG 30.01.24
Collection Dates: 1930-1940; bulk, 1939-1940
3.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Gift of Margaret Sanders. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.


University Hospital tower, ca. 1930
University Hospital tower
ca. 1930

Box Contents List

Three photograph albums and about 120 individual photographs; about 420 images total (3 lin. ft.) Images of various aspects of campus life during the 1939-40 academic year: athletics (football, basketball), campus scenes (Pentacrest, Old Capitol, Electrical Engineering, East Hall, Close Hall), activities (Beaux Arts ball, stage bands, WSUI).