Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

College of Law Photographs Collection
RG 30.01.26
Collection Dates: 1970-
6.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: This collection was transferred to the University Archives from the College of Law in 2008. Guide posted to the Internet March 2008.

Photographs: Entire collection

William Hines, dean of the UI College of Law, and Ralph Gearhart of the Iowa Defense Counsel Association, 1981
William Hines (left), dean of the College of Law, and Ralph Gearhart of the Iowa Defense Counsel Association, 1981

From the College of Law Photographs Collection, folder "Foundation"

Scope and Contents

The College of Law Photographs Collection documents a wide range of the college's activity, including such special events as commencement, moot court, and the 1982 construction of the Boyd Law Building. Students and members of the faculty are also represented. Some, but not all, of the photographs are identified by occasion and date. The collection's files are arranged alphabetically by subject.

Related Materials

Records of the College of Law, Office of the Dean (RG 14.01)

Records of the College of Law (RG 14.02)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Alumni / reunions

Arcachon, Bordeau trip, 1984

Boyd Law Building: groundbreaking, construction

Bridge the Gap Conference




Box 2



Faculty, special events


Box 3

Hawaii trip, 1994


Levitt Lectures

Levitt Lectures, including Janet Reno visit


Moot Court

Musical / P&P Day

Box 4




Reunions, construction

Speakers and faculty