Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Quick Reference Photographs Collection: University Presidents and Campus Buildings
RG 30.01.32
Collection Dates: 1855-1970
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.


Armory and Quadrangle, 1919
Armory and Quadrangle

Box Contents List

Box 1

One spiral notebook; 14 images. University presidential portraits in chronological order (Amos Dean to Howard Bowen); 1855-1964.

Box 2

Two spiral notebooks; each about 70 images. Campus buildings, partial listing; 1855-1970. Includes Old Mechanics Academy, first building used by the University, 1855. Also barracks, temporary buildings.