Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Julius Robert Hecker Collection of Postcards and Photographs
RG 30.01.34
Collection Dates: 1910-1912
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These photographs were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in August 1968 by Mrs. Agnes S. Hecker, wife of Julius Robert Hecker.  Guide posted to the Internet January 2007 and revised April 2009.


Pushball game, freshmen vs. sophomores; 1911
Pushball game, freshmen vs. sophomores

Biographical Note

Julius Robert Hecker was born September 18, 1890, in Audubon, Iowa.  His father, Theodore Hecker, made harnesses for a living.  Julius was a University of Iowa student from 1908 until 1912.  In order to earn money for his classes during 1910-1912, he was employed at Alva C. Townsend's Iowa City photography studio, where he made and sold postcards from his photographs of Iowa City.  Many of his photographs were signed Hecker or JRH in the lower corner.  Another student photographer, Frederick W. Kent, began producing photo postcards in fall 1911.  (Fred Kent went on to found University Photo Service.)  Hecker was enrolled in Military Drill classes, 1908-1909 and 1909-1910.  Military drills are the subject of many of his photographs.  Hecker received his B.A. in Economics on June 12, 1912. 

Hecker married Agnes, and had four children, Jeanne (Burt), Dorothy (Lockwood), Marilyn (Schmitz), and Robert D. He and Agnes moved to Arizona in 1955. Julius Robert Hecker died in Phoenix on August 15, 1967.

[D. Anderson; 04/2009]

Box Contents List

One album, 100 images; also 150 images individually-sleeved. Military Dept., College of Liberal Arts. Also campus, Iowa City scenes. Athletics: track and field, football, baseball, pushball, Museum of Natural History, College of Law in Old Capitol; 1910-1912.

Album includes Old Capitol bell; University of Iowa President John G. Bowman at his desk in January 1912; and men waiting in line outside Whetsone's Drugstore to purchase football tickets.

Sleeved images include a view of the glove factory engulfed in flames on June 7, 1911.  Collection includes an image of two men wheeling Townsend's huge camera on the Old Capitol central walk, on their way to photograph freshman law students.