Samuel Calvin Collection of Photographs
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.
Moon, Steven Elliott. "The Photographic Work of Samuel Calvin: Geological Field Studies Reinterpreted as High Art and Assimilated in the Process of Continued Examination of the Iowa Landscape with a Camera in the 1980's." University of Iowa master's thesis, 1987. T1987.M819.
Box Contents List
About 4,000 images, primarily of Iowa geological formations but also of Iowa City and points of interest across Iowa. Limited indexing is available in the Dept. of Special Collections. Part of this collection is also maintained online by the UI Department of Geoscience.