Printing Department Photographs and Graphic Arts Files Collection
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: The collection was transferred to the University Archives from the University Printing Department in December 2010.
Photographs: Throughout the collection.
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of photographs and graphic arts files used by the University Printing Department in the course of its production of publications, including brochures, newsletters and other materials. The files are sorted by subject.
Box Contents List
University seal (three folders)
Sports Information and Sports School (Hawk in flight logo)
School of Music
Campus buildings sketches
Hospitals and Clinics (two folders), including Nursing
College of Pharmacy
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Rape Crisis Line
Walt Whitman Quarterly Review
School of Social Work and Department of Sociology
Department of Theatre
Transportation and Security
Old woodcuts and novel drawings
Project Assist, 1974
Wendell Johnson Speech and Hearing Clinic
Department of Zoology
President's Home and president photos
Department of Psychology (Spence Lab)
Recreation Services and Facilities
Scenes (general), including ca 1980 computer terminal
Scenes (special), Hoover, Plum Grove
Department of Sociology
College of Nursing
Department of Pediatrics
College of Pharmacy
Department of Physical Education and Dance
Physics and Astronomy
Nostalgia - reproduced 1900-1960 images from archives
Museum of Natural History
Miscellaneous, including move into new College of Law building, ca 1982; campus scenes, 1975-1990
Museum of Art
Hospital School for Severely Handicapped
Hospital Information Services
Continuing Medical Education