Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Raymond Bunge
RG 99.0002
Collection Dates: 1934-1965; bulk, 1949-1965
1.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Processed by Earl M. Rogers in 1990; reprocessed in 2005 by David McCartney. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated 2005 and January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The  Papers of Raymond Bunge consist of correspondence documenting primarily his activity as a researcher while Professor of Urology. The correspondence pertains mostly to artificial insemination, freezing sperm, sexual disorders, and sperm banks. There is also correspondence seeking compensation for the family of Robert W. Alcock, M.D., son of a colleague at the University of Iowa, killed in Iraq in 1958. Correspondents include John Dos Passos, Paul Engle, Vardis Fisher, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, and H.J. Muller.

Biographical Note

Raymond G. Bunge was born April 8, 1908, in St. Johns, Michigan, to Carl and Anna (Ernst) Bunge. He graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School in 1936, where he served as vice-president of his class. He married Ruth Elizabeth Lyday on June 20, 1936, in Ann Arbor Michigan. They had five children.

From 1938 to 1941 he was a resident at the University of Iowa College of Medicine. After serving as a captain in the U.S. Army from 1943 to 1946, he returned to Iowa City and resumed his work as an instructor in the Department of Urology of the College of Medicine. He was promoted to Assistant Professor in 1947, Associate Professor in 1949, and from 1953 to 1976 was Professor of Urology. He received the status of Professor Emeritus prior to his retirement in 1976.

He was an honorary member of the Sigma Xi Fraternity. He was also a member of the American Association of Genito-Urinary Surgeons, the American College of Surgeons, the American Medical Association, the American Tissue Culture Association, Diplomate, the American Board of Urology (1943), the American Urological Association, the Iowa State Medical Society, the Iowa Urological Society, the North Central Section, and Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine. In March 1970 he was awarded the Ayerst Lectureship Award from the American Fertility Society. He is best known for his pioneering research in artificial insemination, androgyny and infertility, specifically in sperm banking techniques.

With his background in tissue culturing, he helped develop the initial understanding of and successes with sperm preservation. Dr. Bunge, working with Dr. James Bradbury, orchestrated the world's first successful human pregnancy from frozen sperm. He also participated in early attempts to develop the amle contraceptive pill.

Raymond G. Bunge died on February 20, 1998, in Iowa City at age 89.

(Portions of the biographical note are from the Iowa City Press-Citizen, February 23 , 1998.)

Related Materials

Folder, "Bunge, Raymond," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence "A" - 1950-1963

----. "B" - 1949-1964

----. "C" - 1934-1965

----. "D" - 1952-1964

----. "E" - 1950-1964

----. "F" - 1949-1964

----. "G" - 1950-1964

----. "H" - 1948-1964

----. "I" - 1952-1961

----. "J" - 1954-1962

Box 2

----. "K" - 1952-1962

----. "L" - 1952-1962

----. "M" - 1953-1965

----. "N" - 1953-1963

----. "O" - 1954-1964

----. "P" - 1948-1962

----. "Q" - 1957-1964

----. "R" - 1953-1964

----. "S" - 1952-1963

----. "T" - 1953-1965

----. "U-V" - 1953-1961

----. "W" - 1952-1962

----. "X-Y-Z" - 1950-1960