Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Dewey B. Stuit
RG 99.0024
Collection Dates: 1909-1991
10.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Dewey B. Stuit in 2003. Processed by David McCartney in April 2006; guide posted to the Internet 2006; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The papers of Dewey B. Stuit are arranged into seven series: Personal Papers, Publications and Professional Papers, Speeches and Presentations, Department of Psychology Teaching and Course Notes, Subject Files, Studies and Reports, and Iowa Qualifying Examinations.

Biographical Note

Dewey Bernard Stuit was born in Fulton, Illinois, on January 24, 1909, the son of Bernie and Grace (Temple) Stuit. He received his degrees from the University of Illinois: the bachelor of science in 1931, the master of science in 1932, and the Ph.D. in 1934. On September 5, 1934, he married Velma E. Pottorf (1911-1997).

In September 1934 Dewey Stuit was appointed instructor of psychology and education at Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota. In 1936 he was appointed associate professor of educational psychology and measurement at the University of Nebraska, and in 1938 was named associate professor of psychology and director of personnel research at the University of Iowa. Following service in the U.S. Navy from 1943 to 1946, he was promoted to professor of psychology, focusing on educational psychology, a position he held from 1946 until his retirement in 1977. He was also director of the student counseling office (1946-49) and dean of student personnel services (1947-50).

It was in his role as the eighth dean of the College of Liberal Arts, however, where Mr. Stuit left his greatest impact on the University. Appointed acting dean in 1948, his appointment became permanent the following year. He held the position until his retirement in 1977. During his tenure he oversaw substantial curricular expansion within the College, establishment of an honors program, and the implementation of rules allowing greater flexibility in degree fulfillment requirements. During the student protest period of the late 1960's and early 1970's he defended the presence of ROTC on campus and criticized the tactics of Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and other anti-war organizations.

UI President Willard (Sandy) Boyd honored Stuit upon his retirement in 1977: "In our programs, he has wanted better, not more. During the years of material growth he counselled against proliferation and concentrated on strengthening existing programs. As an academic spartan, he has been both a traditionalist and a nontraditionalist. ... Flexibility and high standards have been the hallmark of the College of Liberal Arts during Dean Stuit's tenure."

Related Materials

Breaux, Richard. Both Kind and Forceful: Dewey B. Stuit's Leadership of the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts, 1947-1977. Iowa City: The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 2003.

Folder, "Stuit, Dewey B.", Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Oral History Collection (RG 01.06)

Records of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (RG 06.01)

Box Contents List


Box 1

Series I: Personal Papers

Scrapbooks and clippings, 1909-1927

----. 1927-1938

----. 1938-1956

----. 1957-1961

----. 1962-1964

 Box 2

----. 1964-1967

----. 1968-1969

----. 1970

Box 3

----. 1971

----. 1972

----. 1973

----. 1974-1975

----. 1976-1991

Box 4

Correspondence and personal histories, 1931-1990

Box 5

Series II:

Publications by Stuit.

Box 6


Box 7


Publications citing Stuit.

Publications by others.

Box 8

Series III: Speeches and Presentations

Box 9


Box 10

Series IV: Department of Psychology Teaching and Course Notes

Psychology 109

Psychology 110

Psychology 119-120

Psychology 198

Box 11

Psychology 198

Box 12

Teaching: Other courses

Box 13


Box 14


Box 15

Series V: Subject Files

A-E, including general correspondence filed alphabetically by name of correspondent

Box 16

----. F-H

Box 17

----. I-O

Box 18

----. P-R

Box 19

----. S-Z

Box 20

Series VI: Studies and Reports

Series VII: Iowa Qualifying Examinations