Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Marshall B. McKusick Papers
RG 99.0028
Collection Dates: 1959-1979
2.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marshall McKusick in November 1979. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, April 2007.

Photographs: None

Marshall McKusick, 1979

Marshall McKusick, 1979

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the numerous publications by Marshall McKusick during his career as State Archaeologist, and University of Iowa professor of Sociology and Anthropology.

Biographical Note

Marshall Bassford McKusick was born January 13, 1930, in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  He married Charity Koeper in 1954 and they had two children, Blaine and Lucy.  Dr. McKusick earned his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Minnesota, 1952 and 1954.  He took his Ph.D. at Yale University in 1960.  He was a lecturer and researcher in anthropology and archaeology at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 1958 to 1960.

Dr. McKusick joined the faculty of the University of Iowa Department of Sociology and Anthropology in 1960 as assistant professor, and was the second State Archaeologist for Iowa, serving 1960 to 1975.  Dr. Reynold J. RuppĂ© was the first to hold that position (1959-1960).  McKusick was promoted to associate professor in 1964.  His area of research was prehistoric Native American Indian cultures, in particular the Woodland, Oneota, and Mill Creek cultures.  McKusick retired from the University of Iowa in 1996.  He married Joye Davis in January 1982.

[D. Anderson; 04/2007]

Related Materials

Biographical folder, "McKusick, Marshall," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Geoscience (RG 06.15)

Records of the Department of Anthropology and Archaeology (RG 06.06.01)

Papers of June Helm (RG99.0018)

The following visual resources, VHS format, were produced by Marshall McKusick, and are available through Media Services Department, University of Iowa Libraries. 


---. "Earth Lodge People"

---. "Late Woodland Village"

---. "Oneota Longhouse People"

---. "Fort Madison Archaeology"

---. "Mill Creek Village People"

---. "Visiting the Indians with George Catlin"

---. "Fort Atkinson"

The following books by Marshall McKusick are available at University Libraries or State Historical Society of Iowa. 


---. The Benton Street Bridge : a Preliminary Assessment of its Engineering  Significance


---. Ashton House and the Engineer Who Built it

---. The Davenport Conspiracy 

---. The Davenport Conspiracy Revisited


---. "The Davenport Stone: a Hoax Unraveled" [pamphlet]

---. A Perspective of Iowa Prehistory 1841-1928


---. The Iowa Northern Border Brigade


---. Archaeological Explorations Along Iowa Highways


---. The Grant Oneota Village

---. Oneota Longhouses

---. Reconstructing the Longhouse Village Settlement Patterns


---. Prehistoric Investigations


---. Reminiscences of a Pioneer Boy


---. The Sioux Quartzite Formation in Gitchie Manitou State Preserve


---. Men of Ancient Iowa, as Revealed by Archeological Discoveries 


---. Archeological Resources of Rathbun Reservoir Drainage, Iowa


---. Conserving Iowa’s Prehistoric Heritage

Box Contents List

Box 1

Research information for Elephants, Tablets, and Mound Builders: a Nineteenth Century Fraud in American Archaeology

Box 2

Draft of Elephants, Tablets, and Mound Builders: a Nineteenth Century Fraud in American Archaeology

Box 3


Box 4

Correspondence and clippings about publications

Box 5

Expedition Reports, 1960.  Archaeological Field School, UCLA