Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Robert B. Wylie
RG 99.0037
Collection Dates: 1890-1956
1.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries prior to 1970. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in April 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008. Updated July 2009 to reflect accrual (Accession 2009-47).

Photographs: Box 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

The papers concern research and teaching in botany at the University of Iowa and other institutions, including the Fiji-New Zealand expedition. Correspondents include Shirley A. Briggs (on Rachel Carson), Henry S. Conard, Thomas H. Macbride, Jane Philpott, George B. Rigg, Fred J. Seaver, Bohumil Shimek, Frank D. Venning, and other botanists and Iowa faculty. The Robert B. Wylie Papers consist of one document box of correspondence, notebooks, photographs, research papers, and speeches.


Biographical Note

Robert Bradford Wylie was born in Maquoketa, Iowa, March 28, 1870, and died in Iowa City, June 9, 1959. His degrees were B.S., Upper Iowa University, Fayette, 1897; Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1904; and LL.D., Upper Iowa, 1924. Wylie taught botany at Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa, 1897-1906, except when studying for his doctorate, and at the University of Iowa from 1906 onward. He served as department head, 1919-1940. Wylie’s professional activities include the Friday Harbor Marine Biological Laboratory, University of Washington; Iowa Academy of Science (president, 1922-1923); Iowa Lakeside Laboratory; and the University of Iowa Fiji-New Zealand expedition, 1922.



Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence

1907 -- 1939

1940 -- 1956

Macbride, 1906 -- 1934

Fiji Islands and New Zealand expedition

notebooks

papers

Miscellaneous clippings and articles

Photographs of Wylie’s mother

Research papers

A -- F

Box 2

G -- W

Research - bibliographies

Unpublished speeches, editorials, reviews

Promotional publication draft, photos and glass plate, 1953 -- 1954

Lecture notes

Comparative Morphology of Plants, 1908 -- 1909

N.d.

Sketches of specimens (2), n.d.