Edward Bartow Papers
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.
Edward Bartow, n.d.
Scope and Contents
The Edward Bartow papers include his articles.
Edward Bartow was born in Glenham, New York, on January 12, 1870. He graduated from Williams College in Massachusetts in 1892, and took his Ph.D. in 1895 from the University of Göttingen, Germany. Upon returning to the United States, he married Alice Abbott on September 3, 1895. Dr. Bartow first taught at Williams College, then at the University of Kansas from 1897 to 1905, followed by the University of Illinois 1905 to 1920. He served in the American Expeditionary Forces in France during World War I, providing sanitary drinking water and waste treatment for troops.
At the University of Iowa, Dr. Bartow was head of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from 1920 to 1940. The work he accomplished during World War I led to his area of research at Iowa -- the chemical treatment of water while protecting the environment. Edward Bartow died April 12, 1958.
[D. Anderson; 10/2007]
Folder, "Bartow, Edward," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Bartow, Edward. "Memoirs of Edward Bartow." Iowa City, manuscript, 1958 [?]
Records of the Chemistry Dept. (RG06.09)
Folder, "Bond, Perry A.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Gibson, Robert Banks," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Olin, Hubert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Pearce, James Newton," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Raiford, Lemuel Charles," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Rockwood, Elbert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Box Contents List
List of Bartow publications
Articles and reprints, 1905-1943