Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Roy Caston Flickinger
RG 99.0044
Collection Dates: 1927-1944
8.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries after the death of Professor Flickinger in 1942. Collection processed by Robert M. Hedges in August 1964. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The correspondence and papers of Roy C. Flickinger are in the University of Iowa Library through the courtesy of the Classical Languages Department and the Flickinger family. Correspondence is primarily between faculty members concerning their day-to-day administrative matters.

Biographical Note

Roy Caston Flickinger was born December 17, 1876 in Seneca, Illinois. In 1895 he graduated from Jefferson High School in Chicago. He received his BA from Northwestern University in 1899, and took his MA from the same institution in 1901. He was granted a PhD in 1904 by the University of Chicago, and married Lillian Cook August 25 the same year. He was married a second time to Minnie Keys on December 21, 1932.

From 1899 to 1901 he was an Instructor of Greek at Evanston Academy. He then went to Epworth University where he was Professor of Greek and Latin from 1904 to 1905. He then went to Northwestern University from 1905 to 1923, where he was an instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor of Greek and Latin, and from 1919-1923 was Dean of Liberal Arts.

Professor Flickinger arrived at the State University of Iowa in 1925, and served as the Head of the Department of Classical Languages until his death July 6, 1942. During his tenure, he served as the business manager of Classical Journal, 1927-1933, and editor-in-chief of that periodical, 1928-1933.

Box Contents List

Box 1

"Carmina Latina" songbook: selected popular songs translated into Latin, 1919 -- 1923

Letters of acknowledgement, 1928 -- 1941

Institute Correspondence and other materials, 1927 -- 1938

Syracuse minutes: minutes of 1932 meeting of American Philological Association at Syracuse University

Archaeological Institute correspondence, 1928 -- 1939

Box 2

Names beginning letter B

Correspondence concerning Horace Bimillenium

Letters of acknowledgment, 1927 -- 1941

Box 3

Letter B

Box 4

Letter C

Box 5

Letter C [Discarded December 8, 1983, Classical Journal advertising]

Box 6

Letter D

Box 7

Letter D

Box 8

Letters E -- H

Box 9

Letters H -- K

Box 10

Letter L

Box 11

Letters M -- R

Box 12

Letter R and a miscellaneous folder

Box 13

Letter S

Box 14

Letters T -- Z

Box 15

Horace 2000th Birthday Celebration, 1935 -- 1936

Box 16

Student letters and papers

Box 17

Student materials