Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

William M. Furnish Papers
RG 99.0084
Collection Dates: 1938-1970
0.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives by the Geoscience Department. Guide created by Denise Anderson, August 2007.

Photographs: None

Portrait of William M. Furnish, University of Iowa Geology professor, 1966.

William M. Furnish, 1966

Scope and Contents

This is a collection of the offprints of William M. Furnish, spanning 1938-1970.

Biographical Note

William Madison Furnish was born August 17, 1912, in Tipton, Iowa.  He received his B.A., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Iowa in 1934, 1935, and 1938.  As a geologist, he worked for oil companies in Venezuela and Saudi Arabia, as well as in Oklahoma, during the 1940s and early 1950s.  Dr. Furnish was a research assistant at the University of Iowa from 1938 to 1940, before again joining the Geology Department staff as associate professor in September 1953.

Dr. Furnish's area of research at the UI was paleontology, and he was promoted to full professor in 1956.  In 1938 he married Eula Berniece Beck, who was a library assistant at the University of Iowa Geology Library during 1959. The couple had five children.  Dr. William Furnish retired from teaching at the University of Iowa in 1978, and died November 9, 2007.

[D. Anderson; 08/2007]

Related Materials

Records of the Dept. of Geoscience (RG 06.15)

Folder, "Furnish, William M. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Offprints, 1938-1970