Frank A. Wilder Papers
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau in February and March 1998. Guide created in November 2007.
SUI professors of natural science, 1905.
Front row: Bohumil Shimek, Thomas H. Macbride, Samuel Calvin, Charles C. Nutting.
Back row: Gilbert L. Houser, Henry F. Wickham, Frank A. Wilder
Photograph: Frederick W. Kent collection
Scope and Contents
The Frank A. Wilder papers include correspondence dated 1902 to 1906, primarily between Mr. Wilder and Thomas Edmund Savage, assistant state geologist. The collection also includes two draft theses in geology and two folders regarding students.
Frank Alonzo Wilder was born in Akron, Ohio, February 2, 1870. He earned his B.A. in 1892 at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio. He taught science at high schools in Ft. Dodge and Des Moines, Iowa, from 1894 to 1900. During 1901 he was assistant state geologist of Iowa. In 1902 he took his Ph.D. in geology at the University of Chicago, then took the position of associate professor of geology for one year at the University of North Dakota.
Dr. Wilder joined the faculty at the State University of Iowa in 1903 as professor of geology, and taught courses in Petrology (mineralogy), as well as Economic Geology and Mining. In particular he researched the uses of the mineral gypsum. He first became interested in the uses of gypsum while teaching in Ft. Dodge, a site of substantial mining activity. Wilder succeeded Samuel Calvin as the director of the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau in 1904 and served in that capacity until 1906 when Mr. Calvin again assumed the title. The Iowa Geological Survey Bureau was established in 1855.
Dr. Wilder resigned his position at the State University of Iowa in 1906 to become director of the Southern Gypsum Company in North Holston, Virginia. He held this position until 1927. Frank A. Wilder died March 8, 1930.
[D. Anderson; 11/2007]
Box Contents List
Hockett, Waldo. "The Economic Calcination Temperature of Gypsum." State University of Iowa, thesis draft.
Rohland, Paul. "The Second Anhydride Modification of Calcium-sulphate." State University of Iowa, thesis draft.
Geoscience faculty-students, 1905-1906