Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Ingeborg Solbrig Papers
RG 99.0092
Collection Dates: 1969-1984
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Ms. Solbrig in 1984.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Ingeborg Solbrig papers include photocopies of articles, off-prints, and book reviews.

Biographical Note

Ingeborg Hildegard Solbrig was born July 31, 1923, in Weissenfells, Germany.  She emigrated from Germany to the United States in 1961, and earned her B.A. at San Francisco State University in 1964.  Solbrig took her M.A. at Stanford in 1966, and Ph.D. in humanities and German in 1969.  Dr. Solbrig taught at the University of Rhode Island, the University of Tennessee, and the University of Kentucky between 1969 and 1975, before joining the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1975 as associate professor of German.  Dr. Solbrig was made full professor in 1981.  Ingeborg Solbrig retired from the University of Iowa in 1994.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Solbrig, Ingeborg," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Erich Funke (RG99.0091)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Articles (photocopies)


Book reviews