Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Harry Grant Plum
RG 99.0107
Collection Dates:
1.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Department of History. Processed by Robert M. Hedges. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

These papers include Dr. Plum's manuscripts, course outlines, and student work.

Biographical Note

Harry Grant Plum was born in Iowa City, Iowa, November 3, 1868. He earned his PhB in 1894, and MA in 1896, both at the State University of Iowa. He took his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1906. At the State University of Iowa, he was an instructor in history 1896-1901, an assistant professor 1901-1902, a professor of history 1902-1949, and professor emeritus from 1949 until his death September 29, 1956.

Box Contents List

Box 1



Restoration & Puritanism

"English Democracy in the 18th Century"

Other unidentified material

Class Notes

Nationalism manuscript

Copy of agreement between Plum and University of North Carolina Press; copy of the published work

Box 2


"Puritanism in the Revolution of 1688"

"Toleration under William & Mary & Ann"

"Nationalism and Revolution"

"The English Election System"

"Development of the Sale of Office in France"

"An International Experiment"

Personal Letters from (among others)

Wren, M. C.

Dorcas, H.C.

Turner, Ralph

Monnet, Dean

Box 3


"The Stuart Revolution"

"Leopold von Rauke and His Interpretation of History"

"The Teacher and Americanization"

"Great Britain's Economic Crisis"

"A Historical Background of the War"

Box 4

Reprints sent to Plum by former students

Bowman, Francis J.

Calsin, Homer L.

Cuttins, George P.

Ellis, Elmer

Giddens, Paul H.

Hansen, C. Frederick

Hovde, Brynjolf J.

Kirby, Chester

Lond, Aubrey C.

Morgan, William T.

Mullin, Frances Anthony

Notesteen, Wallace

Perkins, Clarence

Prange, Gordon W.

Russell, Nelson Vance

Thurber, John Newton

Turner, Ralph E.

Westergoard, Waldemat

Winter, William L.

Wittke, Carl

Wren, M. C.

Proceedings to Investigate the University of Pittsburgh, 1935

Spiritual Issues of the War (British Information Service)

Robinson, James Harvey (History of the Western European Mind)

Williams, Hattie Plum

Robinson, James Harvey

History of the Western European Mind