Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Frederick Wezeman
RG 99.0123
Collection Dates: 1947-1959; 1966-1973
0.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The papers of Frederick Wezeman were donated to the University Archives as part of the records of the UI School of Library and Information Science. Guide posted to the Internet November 2007.

Photographs: None

Frederick Wezeman
Frederick Wezeman, n.d.

Scope and Contents

The papers of Frederick Wezeman consist of four scrapbooks and one folder which chronicle his professional career and anti-war activism. The scrapbooks include clippings, library brochures, speeches, and reports.

Biographical Note

Frederick Wezeman was the founding director of the University of Iowa School of Library Science (later renamed School of Library and Information Science). He was appointed director in 1966, one year before classes began, and served in this capacity until his retirement in 1980.

He received a master of education degree from Chicago State Teachers' College in 1940 and a bachelor of library science degree from the University of Chicago in 1946. He was a medical librarian for the Veterans Administration office in Chicago from 1946-1947, was director of the Racine, Wisconsin, public library from 1947-1953, held a similar post at Oak Park, Illinois, from 1953-1955, and was an associate professor at the University of Minnesota from 1955-1966.

Frederick Wezeman was born May 1, 1915, in Oak Park, Illinois. He married Marjorie L. Vaughn on August 11, 1960, and they had two children. He died November 2, 1981, at age 67.

Related Materials

Folder, "Wezeman, Frederick," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the UI School of Library and Information Science (RG 06.20)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Scrapbook, 1948-1953

----. 1953-1955

----. 1952-1959

Box 2

----. 1947-1951

Iowa City peace vigil, 1966-1973