Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Edward Wilson Chittenden
RG 99.0126
Collection Dates: 1910-1950
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Mathematics during 1979 and 1992. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, March 2007.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

These papers highlight Professor Chittenden's academic career as professor of mathematics at the University of Iowa, 1918-1954.

Biographical Note

Edward Wilson Chittenden was born August 3, 1885, in Waterville, Minnesota.  He received his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Missouri in 1909 and 1910.  He took his Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of Chicago in 1912.  Dr. Chittenden married Ludie Mae Iman on June 19, 1912, and they had two children.  He taught at the University of Illinois for six years, before joining the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1918.  Edward Chittenden retired in 1954, and died June 16, 1977.

[D. Anderson; 03/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Chittenden, Edward," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Gustav Bergmann (RG 99.0134)

Powell, Kathryn. "The Growth of the Department of Mathematics of the State University of Iowa." Iowa City, 1946. 50 pp. In "History of the University of Iowa, Miscellaneous Papers," 4. Includes astronomy. Location: Archives LD2568 .H58 1942 v. 3-4. 

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence, 1912 -1950

Box 2

Correspondence, cont.

Mathematical papers

Master's thesis

Box 3

Neumann lectures

Chittenden offprints

Math formula notes