Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Charles B. Righter
RG 99.0132
Collection Dates: 1937-1953
3.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries by Professor Righter's daughter, Mrs. Constance Righter Weil, in March 1997. The scrapbook in Oversize Box 1 was donated to the University Archives by Prof. Righter in 1961. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: Oversize Box 1









Biographical Note

Charles Boardman Righter was born in Chicago, Illinois, May 23, 1896, and died in Iowa City, January 25, 1997. His degrees were B.Mus., 1917, and B.F.A., 1926, both at the University of Nebraska. Righter’s early positions included the Lincoln, Nebraska, schools and the University of Nebraska. After 1930 he taught in the University of Iowa School of Music and was also band director, 1937-1954. He also served as administrative assistant to President Virgil M. Hancher. The marching band performed at football games, at home and on the road.

Related Materials

Folder, "Righter, Charles B.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Marching Band," in Subject Vertical Files Collection, Music category (RG 01.15.05)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Marching Band formation charts and iInstructions: 1937 -- 1953

Then and Now, Charles B. Righter autobiography

Oversize Box 1

Scrapbook consisting of photographs of band formations, newspaper clippings, concert programs and other materials, presented by Righter to the University Archives in 1961. Programs include personnel listings for Varsity and Concert bands.