Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

George T.W. Patrick Papers
Collection Dates: 1900-1947
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Patrick in 1947.  Finding aid created December 2007.

Photographs: None

George T.W. Patrick, 1878

George T.W. Patrick, 1878

Scope and Contents

The George T.W. Patrick papers include reprints, a 1946 journal, and a transcript of George Thomas White Patrick, an autobiography. Teacher and Philosopher, by Herbert Martin.

Biographical Note

George Thomas White Patrick was born August 19, 1857, in North Boscawen, New Hampshire.  He grew up in Lyons (Clinton), Iowa, where he attended high school.  He received his A.B. degree in 1878 from the State University of Iowa.  After graduation he served as temporary high school principal in Marengo, Iowa, for three months.  Following that position he was asked to teach for six months in Cedar Falls, Iowa, public schools.  When that position ended he moved to Leadville and Crested Butte, Colorado, from 1879 until fall 1882.

Patrick took his B.D. degree from Yale Divinity School in 1885.  While studying at Yale his focus changed to philosophy.  He attended Johns Hopkins University and took his Ph.D. in philosophy in 1888.  In 1894 he studied at Leipzig University and Berlin University in Germany.

Dr. Patrick began his career at the State University of Iowa in September 1887 as head of the Department of Mental and Moral Science, and Didactics.  Didactics was later named the Department of Pedagogy, followed by the Department of Education.  Although he was in Didactics until 1891, he found the opportunity to teach just one course in the history of education, with the majority of his time devoted to philosophy and psychology.

At SUI, Dr. Patrick established one of the first psychological laboratories in 1890, modeled after the Johns Hopkins laboratory established in 1883.  J. Allen Gilbert was hired in 1895 to supervise the laboratory.  He and Patrick conducted sleep deprivation experiments and published their findings in the Psychological Review and in the University of Iowa Studies in Psychology.   

Patrick married Maud Lyall November 28, 1889, and had two sons, Walden and David.  He retired in 1931 and moved to California.  George T.W. Patrick died May 21, 1949.

[D. Anderson; 12/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Patrick, George T.W.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Gilbert, J. Allen," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Seashore, Carl E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Carl E. Seashore (RG99.0164)

Patrick, George T.W., "Founding the Psychological Laboratory at the State University of Iowa: an Historical Sketch." Iowa Journal of History and Politics 30 (July 1932): 404-416

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. Original typescript with corrections

---. Carbon copy [two folders]

---. Galley proof

Box 2


Journal, 1946