Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Charles H. McCloy
RG 99.0139
Collection Dates: 1907-1959
4.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries by Charles McCloy's family from 1959 to 1961. Processed by: Robert Franciosi July 1980, and Earl M. Rogers July 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

Charles H. McCloy, 1950

Charles H. McCloy, 1950

Scope and Contents

The papers largely concern physical education, including anthropometry, isometrics, physical fitness, reconditioning, and sports medicine. Institutions include YMCAs, the military, and many of the schools where McCloy studied or taught, including Marietta College, Yankton College, Columbia University Teachers College, and the University of Iowa. There are surveys of Tuskegee University and YMCAs in Brooklyn, Queens, and Pittsburgh. Drafts or copies of many McCloy articles and speeches are present in English and translations into French, German, Portuguese, Slovenian, Spanish, and Turkish. Some other materials are in Chinese. Bibliographies are of works on physical education by McCloy and others in various languages. There are curricular materials and lecture notes from Teachers College, Columbia University.

The correspondence (bulk 1953-1959) is divided into “correspondence” and “foreign correspondence” series, although the two overlap. There is some correspondence in other folders and there are bibliographies included with correspondence. References to the Japanese mission, as an example, are scattered and not found only in the folder with that name (Box 5, folder 6). Correspondence on the Argentine trip (Box 1, folder 10) is also found in “Letters about trips abroad” (Box 5, folder 8). Some later correspondence concerns McCloy’s own health.

Correspondents include Charles A. Bucher, Edward K. Capen (his son-in-law), H. Harrison Clarke, Virginia C. Gildersleeve, John A. Hannah, Ernst Jokl, Walter F. Loehwing, King McCristal, Roswell D. Merrick, Henry J. Montoye, Howard A. Rusk, Fred Schwengel, Seward C. Staley, Arthur H. Steinhaus, George D. Stoddard, Maxwell D. Taylor, Carl A. Troester, Paul Dudley White, Joseph B. Wolffe, and McCloy’s children.

The Charles H. McCloy Papers consist of bibliographies, correspondence, lecture notes, publications, speeches, subject folders, surveys, and related materials, and were earlier cataloged in NUCMC 62-4031.

Biographical Note

Charles Harold McCloy was born in Marietta, Ohio, March 30, 1886.  He earned his Ph.B. at Marietta College,Ohio, in 1907, and was awarded the M.A. at Marietta in 1910.  From 1910 through 1912, Mr. McCloy studied at Johns Hopkins Medical School.  Sometime after 1913 he attended Ohio State University during a one-year furlough while serving in China as secretary within the Department of Education, National Council of YMCAs.  Mr. McCloy lived in China for 13 years, and spoke Chinese fluently.  In 1932 he took his Ph.D. at Columbia University.

Dr. McCloy received the following honorary degrees: Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) from Marietta College in 1947; D.Sc. from Grinnell College in 1955; Doctor of Literature (Litt.D.) from George Williams College in 1957; Doctor of Physical Education (P.E.D.) from Ottawa University in 1958.

He taught physical education at colleges and served at Young Men’s Christian Association locations in China and the United States between 1905 and 1930. Charles McCloy was professor of physical education at the University of Iowa from 1930 to 1959.  Dr. McCloy’s specialty was anthropometry, the analysis of motor skills. He was active in professional associations in physical education, serving as president of several.  He wrote numerous books in both the Chinese and English languages. During and after World War II he advised on physical fitness for the U.S. Army, Navy, and Air Force. In 1946 he was a member of an American educational mission to occupied Japan.  Charles McCloy died in Iowa City, Iowa, on September 18, 1959.

Related Materials

English, Eleanor B. “Charles H. McCloy: The Research Professor of Physical Education,” Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance 54, no. 4 (April 1983): 16-18

Ibid. “The Enigma of Charles H. McCloy,” Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance 54, no. 5 (May 1983): 40-42

Little, James Robert. “Charles Harold McCloy: His Contributions to Physical Education,” Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1968

"Ambassador for Physical Education," Staff Magazine, summer 1955, pp. 25-29

Folder, "McCloy, Charles," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Adult Welfare Research Station

American Academy of Physical Education

American College of Sports Medicine

Anatomy book



Anthropometry book

---. courses for physical growth


---. surface area

Argentina trip, 1955

Army Air Force manual

Army reconditioning conferences

Army WAC, medicine ball weight

Bibliography, Physical Education Journal

Bibliographies, miscellaneous

Bibliography, McCloy writings

---. Physical Fitness

---. Psychology of P.E.

---. Reconditioning

---. Recreational activities

---. Rhythm

Body build, scapular types, Graves


---. 1929-1952

---. 1953-1955

Box 2

Correspondence, cont.

---. 1956

---. January-March 1957

---. April-September 1957

---. October-December 1957

---. January-April 1958

Box 3

Correspondence, cont.

---. May-August 1958

---. September-December 1958

---. January-May 1959

---. June-September 1959

Course materials

Box 4

Course materials, cont.

Egyptian literature

Exercises for cardiacs

Fitness, A Way of Life

Foreign correspondence

---. 1953-1954

---. 1955-1956

---. 1957

---. 1958

Box 5

Foreign correspondence, cont.

---. 1959

Foreign publications

Girls basketball

Instituto Panamericano

Introduction to biology

Japanese mission, 1946

Laboratory Manual for Tests and Measurements in Physical Education, 1950

Letters about trips abroad

Miscellaneous speeches, outlines, etc.


Navy research

Box 6

Personal information

Philosophy of physical education

Physical education in China

Physical reconditioning

Physical training commands and the command voice

Posture training

Scouting survey

Programs of study at State University of Iowa

Proposed physical fitness program, Army Air Force


Seminar and Department of Physical Education information

Service academies

Box 7


Spanish and French letters relative to isometric exercises


Sports medicine

---. Bibliography

---. Publications

Techniques of measurement


Testimonials, China, 1926

Tuskegee report

West Point


---. Brooklyn and Queens survey


------. Physical work

------. Questionnaire


---. Pittsburgh survey

---. Survey methods

Box 8

Draft revision of technical manual 5-292 “Physical Reconditioning”

Physical Reconditioning, War Department technical manual 8-292, 1945

Reconditioning Manual, Part II, TM 8-290

Physical fitness for the army

Box 9

Anthropometry, Shanghai

Outline for leaders’ class, Foochow, Tientsin, 1916

Outline of survey, Foochow, I-hsing, 1916-1917

Plaque, IAHPER, 1954

Reconditioning conference, Schick General Hospital, Clinton, Iowa, 1944

G. Stanley Hall, inspirational quote from 1917

Motion picture film; microfilm, “Wrestling Technique,” 1945

Box 10

Chinese Journal of Physical Education

Published articles

---. A-B

---. C-D

---. E-F

---. G-L

Box 11

Published articles, cont.

---. M-O

---. P-Ph

---. Pl-R

---. S

---. T

Box 12

Published articles, cont.

---. U-Y


Tributes, 1955