Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

M. Gladys Scott Papers
Collection Dates: 1920-1988
0.5 linear feet

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by the M. Gladys Scott estate in August 1994.  Finding aid created in January 2008.

Photographs: Box 1

M. Gladys Scott, October 1973

M. Gladys Scott, October 1973

Frederick W. Kent Collection

Scope and Contents

The M. Gladys Scott papers include articles and correspondence during her professional career.  Several photographs appear to be from her high school years.

Biographical Note

Myrtle Gladys Scott was born October 26, 1905 in Buckley, Illinois.  Scott received her B.A. degree in romance languages and history from DePauw University in 1927.  She took her M.A. and Ph.D., both in physical education, at the State University of Iowa in 1931 and 1937.  Dr. Scott was the first woman at SUI to receive a Ph.D. in the field of physical education.

Scott served as associate professor of physical education at Northern State Teachers College in Aberdeen, South Dakota, 1928-1933. She was director of physical education for women at State Teachers College in Dickinson, North Dakota, 1933-1934.

She joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in 1934 as instructor of women's physical education.  Dr. Scott became assistant professor in 1938 and associate professor in 1941.  She was made full professor in 1947 and department head in 1955.  Her area of research and publication was biomechanics of human motion.  Dr. Scott established the SUI women's intercollegiate athletic program in 1973 and hired Christine Grant as its first athletic director.

M. Gladys Scott retired in 1974 and died November 5, 1990.   The M. Gladys Scott Scholarship Fund was established to assist graduate students with research in physical education.

[D. Anderson; 01/2008] 

Related Materials

Folder, "Scott, Myrtle Gladys," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

The University of Iowa Archives' oral history collection, Vol. XLIV (RG 01.06)

Records of the Committee on Student Life (RG 05.03.19)

Records of the Department of Physical Education (RG 06.26)

Box Contents List

Box 1


Articles, 1960-1981

Correspondence, 1964-1988

Awards, 1927-1981

Newspaper clippings, 1978-1979; n.d.

Oral History transcript form , 1976 James Beilman project

Photographs, ca. 1920-1988

Photograph album, 1974