Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of James P. Wells
RG 99.0143
Collection Dates: 1949-1963
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated by James P. Wells in October 1978.  Finding aid posted to the Internet in July 2010.

Photographs: None

Iowan article by James P. Wells

The Iowan
article by James Wells

Photograph by George Black

Scope and Contents

These papers include reports, writings, and news releases that document faculty research within the Department of Physics and Astronomy during the years James P. Wells served as administrative assistant from 1958 to 1963.  Articles collected by Wells that were authored by Gustavus Hinrichs and George W. Stewart were transferred to those respective collections.

Biographical Note

James P. Wells was born August 6, 1913, in La Grande, Oregon.  He was an editorial assistant for the University of Iowa News and Information Service from 1952 until 1958, when he was named administrative assistant in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.  In this capacity he prepared articles and news releases regarding the launching of the first U. S. satellites into Earth's orbit.

Wells retired from the University of Iowa in 1979.  He and his wife, Alberta, had a son and a daughter.  Wells died in Salt Lake City, Utah, on October 9, 1982.

[D. Anderson; 07/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "Wells, James P.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Gustavus Hinrichs (RG 99.0039)

Papers of George W. Stewart (RG 99.0141)

Papers of James A. Van Allen (RG 99.0142)

Papers of George H. Ludwig (RG 99.0004)

Wells, James P. Annals of a University Department: From Natural Philosophy to Physics and Astronomy. Iowa City, Iowa: Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa, 1980.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Writings by SUI physics professors. 1949-1963

Article, "Architects of the Space Age," by James Wells. March 1958

Article, "Explorer VII," by James Wells and George Ludwig. [1959?]

Report on cosmic ray instrumentation, by George Ludwig and James Van Allen. April 19, 1957

Report, "Observation of High Intensity Radiation by Satellites 1958 Alpha and Gamma," by Van Allen, Ludwig, Ray, and McIlwain. May 1, 1958.

Report to NASA on continuing research with satellites, by Van Allen. November 20, 1958

News releases. 1958

Comparisons of various U. S. physical science buildings. 1950-1962

Matsushima letter to Van Allen on plans for a new observatory. April 4, 1962

Floor plans for proposed Physics Research Building

Colloquium of College Physicists, itinerary for spouses. June 1956

Statistics of enrolled students and hourly employees. June 11, 1959

Bibliography of space science publications. 1951-1963