Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of C.C. Wylie
RG 99.0146
Collection Dates: 1910-1960; bulk, 1950-1955
0.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1989, with ownership transferred by his family in 1994. Processed by Fran Murphy and Earl M. Roger in October 1997. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

The C. C. Wylie Papers consist of two document boxes of astronomical charts (Halley’s comet, 1910), correspondence, reports, rock chips (attached to correspondence, December 8, 1953, and March 3, 1954), and travel forms. The papers concern calendar reform, meteor and meteorite sightings, unidentified flying objects, and Lincoln LaPaz. Correspondents include George E. Collins, W. D. Frankforter, Moses Jung (former professor of religion at Iowa), Gerard Kuiper, Peter M. Millman, James R. Naiden, H. H. Nininger, J. Hugh Pruett, Harlow Shapley, and Otto Struve.


Biographical Note

Charles Clayton Wylie was born in Idana, Kansas, June 18, 1886, and died in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, April 5, 1976. His degrees were B.A., Park College, Parkville, Missouri, 1908; M.A., Missouri, 1912; and Ph.D., Illinois, 1922. Wylie was at the U.S. Naval Observatory, 1913 -- 1919, and the University of Illinois, 1922 -- 1925, before teaching astronomy at the University of Iowa from 1925 onward. The astronomy program was then part of the mathematics department. His interest in meteor and meteorite sightings involved extensive public contact. Wylie wrote several books and many articles on astronomy.


Related Materials

Folder, "Wylie, Charles Clayton," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Calendar reform

Correspondence

1931 -- 1951

January -- July 1952

August -- December 1952

January -- May 1953

June -- September 1953

October -- December 1953

1954

Box 2

Correspondence, 1955 -- 1960 and undated

Halley’s comet, May 1910

Logs of meteor trips and request for travel forms, 1951 -- 1954

Notes from the Department of Astronomy, 1953 -- 1954

Office of Ordnance research, 1952 -- 1954

Research on stone-dropping meteors, 1952 -- 1954

Study of stone-dropping meteors and their meteorites, 1951

Texas Observers’ Bulletin, no. 25 -- 32, 1933 -- 1934

Descriptive Astronomy , C.C. Wylie (2 copies)