Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Frank A. Stromsten Papers
RG 99.0196
Collection Dates: 1897-1905
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid created December 2007.

Photographs: None

Scope and Contents

The Frank A. Stromsten papers include course notebooks he wrote while studying at the State University of Iowa and Princeton University, 1897-1905.

Biographical Note

Frank Albert Stromsten was born April 5, 1872, in Corydon, Iowa.  He received his B.S. in June 1900 from the State University of Iowa.  He held a fellowship in the Department of Animal Morphology and Physiology under Professor Gilbert L. Houser from 1900 until 1902.  He received his M.S. in June 1902 and then served as assistant instructor for one year.  From 1903 until 1905 he held a fellowship at Princeton University and took the Sc.D. degree.

He returned to the State University of Iowa as instructor of zoology in September 1905.  He was promoted to assistant professor in 1910, and associate professor in 1918.  He conducted research about turtles at the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory at Lake Okoboji and became acting director of this facility from 1923 through 1926.  He reduced his teaching schedule to part time in 1942 and retired in 1950.

In 1910 he married Grace Swaney and they had two children. Frank Stromsten died November 26, 1958.

[D. Anderson; 12/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Stromsten, Frank A.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Houser, Gilbert Logan," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Solursh, Michael," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Michael Solursh (RG99.0195)

Stromsten, Frank Albert. "The History of the Department of Zoology of the State University of Iowa." Bios (Mount Vernon, Iowa) 21 (March 1950): 8-30

Papers of Charles C. Nutting (RG 99.0194)

Box Contents List

Box 1

State University of Iowa course notebooks, 1897; n.d.

Princeton course notebooks, 1903-1905