Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Melvin R. Novick
RG 99.0229
Collection Dates: 1962-1986
11 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from Mrs. Melvin Novick in 1986 and 1987. Processed by: Julia Waggoner April 1989, and Earl M. Rogers February 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.










Scope and Contents

The papers reflect Novick’s professional activity, publications, research, teaching, and travel in educational and psychological testing. Specific interests included Bayesian statistical methods, computer-assisted data analysis (CADA), and psychometrics. At Iowa, Novick served on the Hancher Auditorium Review Committee. He was a member, fellow, or officer of the American Educational Research Association, the American Psychological Association, the American Statistical Association, and the Psychometric Society. Novick’s research included contacts with U.S. Department of Defense agencies. Correspondents in Great Britain, Japan, the Netherlands, and the United States include Allan Birnbaum, Hans F. Cronbach, Morris H. DeGroot, Stephen E. Fienberg, W.J. Hall, Ronald K. Hambleton, Edwin P. Hollander, P.H. Jackson, D.V. Lindley, H.G. Macintosh, Irv Molenaar, Kazno Shigemasu, Robert L. Thorndike, and Hiroshi Watanabe.

The Novick Papers are largely correspondence arranged in chronological order, with some miscellaneous folders and folders on specific professional and other bodies. Beginning with January 1974, each month of correspondence is preceded by a calendar listing sender, recipient, and subject or key word for many letters.

Biographical Note

Melvin Robert Novick was born in Chicago, Illinois, September 21, 1932, and died in Princeton, New Jersey, May 20, 1986. His degrees were B.A., 1957, B.S., 1959, and M.A., 1959, all at Roosevelt University, and Ph.D., University of North Carolina, 1963. Novick’s positions included the Educational Testing Service (ETS), 1963-1970, and the University of Iowa from 1970 to his death. From 1970 to 1974 he had a joint appointment with the American College Testing Program (ACT). At Iowa he was professor of education and statistics.

Related Materials

Journal of Educational Statistics. V. 12, n. 1 (Spring 1987), features several articles about Novick's life and career, including Leonard S. Feldt and Robert V. Hogg. “Melvin R. Novick: Recollections of Two Iowa Colleagues.”

Folder, "Novick, Melvin," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the College of Education (RG 09)

Box Contents List

Box 1


May -- December 1962

February -- December 1963



Lord and Novick, Mental Test Theory 1965

Box 2



January -- September 1968

Box 3

October -- December 1968


January -- August 1970

Box 4

September 1970 -- December 1970


Box 5

January -- November 1972

Box 6

December 1972

January -- October 1973

Box 7

November -- December 1973

January -- October 1974

Box 8

November -- December 1974

January -- October 1975

Box 9

November -- December 1975

Miscellaneous Correspondence 1971 -- 1975

January -- May 1976

Box 10

June -- December 1976

January 1977

Box 11

February -- September 1977

Box 12

October -- December 1977

January -- March 1978

Box 13

April -- November 1978

Box 14

December 1978

January -- July 1979

Box 15

August -- December 1979

January 1980

Box 16

February -- October 1980

Box 17

November -- December 1980

January -- July 1981

Box 18

August-- December 1981

January -- April 1982

Box 19

May -- December 1982

January -- April 1983

Box 20

May -- December 1983

January -- May 1984

Box 21 Correspondence, cont.

June -- December 1984

January -- June 1985

American Psychological Association Division 5, September -- December 1980

Box 22

Correspondence, American Psychological Association Division 5, January -- August 1981

Correspondence, Office of the Secretary of Defense

June -- December 1983

January -- November 1984

January -- September 1985

Correspondence and documentation, Marine Corps/Center for Naval Analyses, June 1983 -- October 1984

Correspondence and documentation, Navy Personnel Research and Development Center, July 1983 -- April 1984

Correspondence, Army Research Institute for the Behavioral and Social Sciences, June 1983

Correspondence and documentation, Air Force Human Resources Laboratory, August 1983 -- May 1985

Box 23

Journal of Educational Statistics Management Committee

Correspondence, April 1981 -- January 1984

September -- December 1983



January -- May 1986

Hancher Auditorium Review Committee, September -- December 1983

January -- May 1984

Miscellaneous correspondence and documents, 1977 -- 1986