Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Paul C. Packer Papers
RG 99.0230
Collection Dates: 1923-1944
1 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from the College of Education.  Collection processed by Robert M. Hedges.


Paul C. Packer

Paul C. Packer, 1921

Scope and Contents

Packer's speeches give an insight into the problems facing an educator of his period. The scrapbooks are personal.

Biographical Note

Paul C. Packer was born October 13, 1886, in Salem, Iowa. He taught in rural schools in Henry County, Iowa, from 1905 to 1907. He was principal of the grammar schools in Fort Madison, Iowa, 1910 -- 1913, and held the same position in Iowa City, Iowa, 1913 -- 1917. Mr. Packer earned his BA degree from the State University of Iowa in 1918, and later the same year was appointed director of educational research for the Detroit public schools. From 1919 to 1921 he was assistant superintendent of the Detroit public schools

In 1921 he returned to Iowa City as professor of education at the State University of Iowa. He took his MA from the University of Michigan in 1921 and PhD from Columbia University in 1923. He served as Dean of the College of Education at the State University of Iowa from 1923 until 1946, at which time he became Chancellor of the Oregon state system of higher education. Paul Packer died in Iowa City on August 21, 1964, and was buried in Salem, Iowa.

Related Materials

Folder, "Packer, Paul C.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Office of the Dean, College of Education (RG 09.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Spitzer, H.F. 1945 -- 1946

Summer Session, College of Education, 1946

Miscellaneous materials, 1945 -- 1946, starting with the letter T

---. U V W X Y Z

Van Dyke, L.A., 1945 -- 1946

Free items (not in folders)

---. Published articles

---. Lecture

---. Consultant report

---. Personal items; commencement address

Box 2

Certificate for Doctor of Laws degree, Cornell College

Speeches, 1941 -- 1942

Speeches, various years, not all by Packer

Book manuscript, Public School Plant Problems

Speeches, two folders

Speeches, 1935 -- 1936

Box 3

Scrapbook, personal items

Philippine Islands pamphlet

Scrapbook, newspaper clippings

Report on a library study

Box 4

Photographs and newspaper clippings of Philippine Island's festival