Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Anne E. Pierce Papers
RG 99.0232
Collection Dates: 1893-1937
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Memorabilia donated by University of Chicago Library in 1980. Finding aid created January 2008.

Photographs: None

Anne E. Pierce, 1918

Anne E. Pierce, 1918

Photo: Frederick W. Kent collection

Scope and Contents

The Anne E. Pierce papers include musical programs of her vocal performances, 1913-1928.  Correspondence regarding radio broadcast performances is dated 1924 and 1925.

Biographical Note

Anne Elise Pierce was born March 14, 1890 in Saginaw, Michigan.  She had a sister, Bessie Louise Pierce.  Ms. Pierce received her B.M. (Bachelor of Music) degree in 1920 from the American Conservatory of Music in Chicago, Illinois.  She received her B.A. from the State University of Iowa in 1927.  In 1928 she took the M.M. (Master of Music) degree from the American Conservatory of Music.  She took the M.A. degree from Columbia University in New York in 1930. The American Conservatory of Music awarded her the honorary doctor of music degree in 1950.

Ms. Pierce served as assistant to the voice teacher at Iowa State Teachers College (later University of Northern Iowa) from 1914 to 1917.  She taught music at the State University of Iowa Experimental Schools, 1917-1919. She was professor of voice at the Cornell College Conservatory of Music, 1919-1923.  She returned to the S.U.I. Experimental Schools in 1926 as assistant professor and head.  She was promoted to associate professor in 1939.  During summer sessions from 1938 to 1946 she was visiting professor of music education at Northwestern University.  Ms. Pierce retired in 1955.

Many of her publications focused on voice and music instruction at the elementary school level.  Her performances were broadcast on Iowa City radio station WHAA (later WSUI) on July 29, 1924, and on WSUI on December 21, 1925.  Anne E. Pierce died July 10, 1967.

[D. Anderson; 01/2008]

Related Materials

Folder, "Pierce, Anne E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the University Schools (RG 09.07)

Folder, "Pierce, Bessie Louise," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Bessie Louise Pierce, University of Chicago Library

Box Contents List

Box 1

Order form for book by Pierce and Liebling, 1937

Music performance programs, Cornell College, 1918-1928

Cornell Music Festival program, May 1923

Cornell College Bulletin: The Conservatory of Music, 1921-1922

First Methodist Episcopal Church service programs, 1913, 1926

Press reviews, n.d.

Correspondence about radio WHAA (later WSUI) performances, 1924-1925

Grinnell School of Music program featuring George L. and Alma F. Pierce, 1909

Waverly High School graduation program of Bessie Louise Pierce, 1905

Card to Anne, "Merry Xmas," with tracing of Bessie's foot, 1893