Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Dan E. Branson
RG 99.0245
Collection Dates: 1954-1995
0.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries from Professor Branson in November 1995. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in July 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Dan E. Branson Papers consist of originals and photocopies of awards and honors, a curriculum vitae with supplements, student evaluations, and subject folders on Branson’s career in engineering education.

Biographical Note

Dan Earle Branson was born in Dallas, Texas, November 13, 1928. His degrees were B.C.E., Auburn University, 1954; M.C.E., 1956; and Ph.D., University of Florida, 1960. Branson taught civil engineering at the University of Alabama and Auburn University and, since 1963, the University of Iowa. An authority on the deformation of concrete structures, he was the structural designer of the spiral pedestrian overpass at Burlington Street and Riverside Drive, Iowa City; published many books and articles; and earned many awards in engineering.

Box Contents List

Box 1


Curriculum vitae with supplements


Publications on concrete structures

Structural designs


Teaching and research summary

American Concrete Institute code

Spiral ramp in Iowa City, 1969

Environmental flow facility, 1975

High school sports

Fredine Branson - biography