Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of George W. Brown
RG 99.0246
Collection Dates: 1949-1983
0.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries after the death of Professor Brown in 1986. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in 1997. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The George W. Brown Papers concern concussion of the brain, energy policy, motor vehicle accidents, and transportation policy in Iowa. Published articles and typescripts on concussion and transportation are by Brown, John J. O’Mara, a civil engineering professor at Iowa, and various co-authors. Correspondents include U.S. Rep. Fred Schwengel (R-Iowa).

Biographical Note

George Wallace Brown was born in Chicago, Illinois, May 28, 1917, and died in Frankfort, Michigan, July 18, 1986. His degrees were B.A., University of Iowa, 1940; M.S. (chemistry), 1942; and Ph.D. (physiology), 1952. Brown was a captain in the U.S. Army during World War II, taught anatomy and civil engineering at the University of Iowa, and was a transportation consultant.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Abstract of Ph.D. dissertation, 1952

Analysis of 104 eastern Iowa motor vehicle casualty accidents

Cardiovascular response to cerebral trauma, 1952

Chrysler Corporation on highway safety, 1966

Class papers

Concussion in monkey and ECT

Concussion papers

Concussion project, 1949


Deposition for General Motors, 1968

Effects of experimental concussion, 1952

Electroconvulsive shock

trauma papers

Highway trucks

Iowa Law Review highway safety, 1968

McClane accident, 1970

New Orleans paper

Newspaper clippings

O’Mara letter on speed, 1968

Papers presented

Box 2

Public hearing on automotive safety, 1966

Published articles

Safety Center research


Transportation policy and energy