Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Floyd A. Nagler
RG 99.0251
Collection Dates: 1915-1931
0.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in August 1973. Processed by Earl M. Rogers in 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

Floyd A. Nagler

Floyd A. Nagler

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs

Scope and Contents

The papers are reports by Nagler and others on proposed water power developments on the Cedar and Iowa rivers and the effect on the Fort Dodge sewage disposal problem of a proposed dam on the Des Moines River, all in Iowa, and Nagler’s master's thesis at the University of Michigan.

Biographical Note

Floyd August Nagler was born in Howard City, Michigan, January 11, 1892, and died in Iowa City, November 10, 1933. The last name is pronounced “Nogler.” His degrees were B.S., Michigan State University, 1914; M.S.E., University of Michigan, 1915; Ph.D., 1917. Nagler was employed by engineering firms, 1914 -- 1920, and taught hydraulic engineering at the University of Iowa from 1920 until his death. He was the first director of the Iowa Institute of Hydraulic Research (appointed 1931), served as a consultant, and earned awards from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Nagler collected turbines and waterwheels for the Institute.

Related Materials

Mutel, Cornelia F. “Floyd Nagler’s Passion for Water Power,” Iowa Heritage Illustrated 77 (Winter 1996): 152-156.

Nagler, Floyd. The Passing of the Old Water Mills in Iowa. Iowa City : University of Iowa, Office of the State Archaeologist, 2004.

Folder, "Nagler, Floyd A.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Reed, John A. [Legal phases of proposed water power development on Cedar and Des Moines rivers], 1921

Fargo Engineering Company, Jackson, Michigan. Report on economics of fall increaser installation at Rochester hydro-electric plant on the Cedar River, Iowa, for Iowa Railway & Light Company, 1922

Nagler, Floyd A. Preliminary report on the redevelopment of the water power on the Iowa River at Alden, Iowa, 1927

Nagler, Floyd A. Memorandum on the effect of the proposed dam on the Des Moines River on the sewage disposal problem at Fort Dodge, 1928

Wardle, J.D. Report on water power of Cedar River at Rochester, Iowa, for the Iowa Railway & Light Corporation, 1931

Nagler, Floyd A. Obstruction of bridge piers to the flow of water. [M.S.E. thesis], University of Michigan, 1915