Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of William G. Raymond
RG 99.0252
Collection Dates: 1904-1929
0.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Material transferred to University Archives from the College of Engineering in November 1979.  Collection processed by Earl M. Rogers in August 1997. Guide posted to the Internet in 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The papers are correspondence on engineering education at the University of Iowa and Coe College, Cedar Rapids, and on utility regulation and reports by Raymond and others on utility regulation cases in Iowa and other states. Correspondents include W. R. Boyd, Pierce Butler, Anson Marston, and M. A. Repass.

Biographical Note

William Galt Raymond was born in Princeton, Iowa, March 2, 1859, and died in Iowa City, June 17, 1926. After attending the University of Kansas, his degrees were C.E., Washington University, St. Louis, 1884; LL.D., 1905; Eng. D., University of Michigan, 1919. In addition to positions with railroads and engineering firms, Raymond taught civil engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, 1884 -- 1890, and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York, 1892 -- 1904. In 1904 he came to Iowa to direct the engineering program, from 1905 as the first dean of the College of Applied Science. In 1927 the college was renamed College of Engineering. Raymond was active in professional societies and he published many books and articles.

Related Materials

Lambert, B.J. William Galt Raymond. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947

Folder, "Raymond, William G.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence, 1904 -- 1923

Correspondence, 1924 -- 1926

Oakland, California: Contra Costa Water Company, H. M. Wright, ca. 1916

Chicago, Illinois: Rock Island and Western Indiana railroads, separation of grades, Onward Bates, 1914

Galena, Illinois: Interstate Public Service Company water works, W. G. Raymond and others, 1916

Moline, Illinois, and adjacent cities: Peoples Power Company gas rate, 1918

Iowa City Light & Power Company, Iowa, gas department, William A. Baehr, 1918

Iowa City Light & Power Company, Iowa, gas rates submission, 1918

Marshalltown, Iowa: Iowa Railway and Light Company, gas department, 1918

Perry Gas Works, Iowa: Andersen, De Lany & Co., 1918

Perry, Iowa: Charles H. Foy gas rate, W. G. Raymond, 1918

Red Oak GasLight Company, Iowa: [with manuscript figures], W. G. Raymond, July 8, 1918

Red Oak GasLight Company, Iowa: W. G. Raymond, July 10, 1918

Washington, Iowa: Iowa Gas and Electric Company gas rates, W. G. Raymond, 1918

Washington, Iowa: Washington Telephone Company, 1918

Ann Arbor Railroad Company, Michigan: railroad rates, n.d.

Elizabethtown Gas Light Company, New Jersey: gas rates, 1920

Milwaukee Gas Light Co., Wisconsin: gas accounts, 1925

Notes on methods of handling ordinary repairs and renewals on a railroad as compared with those of a pipe line or water company, Charles S. Churchill, 1915

Development expense, W. G. Raymond (?), n.d.

Rate article, Arthur Huntington, 1929

Pamphlets and reprints, Charles E. Hughes, J. Kruttschnitt, Julian Loebenstein, W.G. Raymond, etc., 1913 -- 1923

Miscellaneous, n.d.