Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Philo J. Farnsworth
RG 99.0272
Collection Dates: 1870-1895
0.75 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid posted to the Internet October 2010.

Photographs: None

Dr. Philo Farnsworth's lecture notes, 1886.

Dr. Philo J. Farnsworth's "Medical Theories" lecture notes, 1886.

Scope and Contents

The Philo J. Farnsworth papers include his course lectures on Materia Medica and on Diseases of Children.  These notes were amended and delivered to internal medicine and pediatric medical classes from September 1870 to 1895. Some lectures are not dated.  The medical remedies addressed are noted in the box list below.  A note in the first folder of box one indicates the number of lectures delivered in all medical classes during the 1888-1889 term was 480.  This folder also includes an undated student scoring sheet used for determining course grades.  Two geology papers by Farnsworth are in box one.

Biographical Note

Philo Judson Farnsworth was born January 9, 1830, in Westford, Vermont.  He received the B.A. degree in 1854 from the University of Vermont.  He received the M. A. and M.D. degrees from that institution in 1858. In 1860 he received a medical degree from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University in New York.  He received the Honorary Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1897.

Dr. Farnsworth set up his private medical practice in Lyons, Iowa, in 1862 and relocated to Clinton, Iowa, in 1869. In 1870, Farnsworth was named professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics in the fledgling State University of Iowa College of Medicine, where he taught courses in Materia Medica as well as in Diseases of Children for 22 years.  He was also an amateur geologist.

Farnsworth married Elizabeth B. D. Eaton in 1872.  He died February 14, 1909 after a fall at his home.

[D. Anderson; 10/2010]

Related Materials

Farnsworth, P. J. Synopsis of a Course of Lectures on Materia Medica and Therapeutics. Iowa City, Iowa: State University of Iowa, 1889.

Papers of John T. McClintock (RG 99.0280)

Bean, William B. "The University of Iowa College of Medicine 100 Years Ago." Iowa Medical Society Journal 60 (April 1970): 237-240, illus. Hardin Library.

Bierring, Walter L. "State University of Iowa College of Medicine: The First Dean and First Medical Faculty." History of Medicine in Iowa. Iowa State Medical Society Journal 34 (April 1944): 178-180, illus. Hardin Library; State Historical Society of Iowa. 

Cone, Carl B. History of the State University of Iowa: The College of Medicine. Iowa City, 1941. 306 pp. Hardin Library; University Archives R747.I8 C65. 

McClintock, John T. "The College of Medicine, 1870-1945." Medical Bulletin (University of Iowa. Publications, n.s. 1369), pp. 2-7, illus.     July 1, 1945. University Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03).

McClintock, John T. "Comments on the Founding and Development of the College of Medicine." History of Medicine in Iowa. Iowa State Medical Society Journal 36 (April 1946): 174-177. 1870-1928. Hardin Library; State Historical Society of Iowa.


Box Contents List

Box 1  Materia Medica

Folder 1

Note on number of medical lectures for 1888-1889 term

Student scoring sheet for assigning grades, n.d.

[no title], 1875

"Introduction," 1880

"Modifiers of the Action of Medicine," 1883

"Parts to Which Medicines Are Applied," 1883

"Action of Medicines," 1883

"Introductory Lecture," 1884

"Pharmacy," 1884; 1886; 1887; 1888

"Dretettics," 1885

"Light and Darkness; Air and Massage," 1886; 1888

"Proximate Principals of the Body," n.d.

"Heal, Cola, Baths, Water," 1886; 1889

"Cod Liver Oil," 1886

"Medical Theories," 1886

"Review of the Action of Medicine," 1887

Folder 2

"October 11, 1883"

"Bitters," n.d.

"Cod Liver Oil," n.d.

"Quassia," 1888

"Food Composition of the Body," 1886

"Tonics," 1884; 1886

"Alcohol," n.d.

"Anesthetics," n.d.

"Food," n.d.

Unidentified, n.d.

Folder 3

"Anesthetics," 1888

"Tonic," n.d.

"Mineral Acids," n.d.

"The Alkaline Group," n.d.

"Ammonium," n.d.

"Sodium," 1884

"Potassium," n.d.

"Vegetable Astringents," n.d.

Folder 4

"Lead," n.d.

"Mineral Acids," n.d.

"Phosphorus," n.d.

"Neurotic Sedatives," n.d.

"Neurotic Delriants," n.d.

"Neurotics," 1872; 1878; 1880

"Belladonna," n.d.

"Arsenic," n.d.

"Glycerine," n.d.

Folder 5

"Phosphorus," 1871

"Escharotics," n.d.

"Emetics," 1873

"Diuretics," n.d.

"Paboranda," 1883

"Diaphoretics," n.d.

"Cathartics," n.d.

"Tobacco," n.d.

"Carbolic Acid," 1883

"Ferrum," 1873

"Hygiene," n.d.

Folder 6

"Hygiene," n.d.

"Antiseptics and Disinfectants," 1886

International Medical Congress, n.d.

"Cholera," n.d.

"Wednesday evening, November 22, 1871," sex education lecture

Folder 7

"Albany Mounds, written for an Iowa Natural History [illegible] held at Iowa City, 1880"

Geology paper, 1884

Box 2  Children and Children's Diseases

Folder 1

"Infants," n.d.

"Clinical Examination of Children," n.d.

"Respiratory Organs," n.d.

"Diseases of the Brain," n.d.

"Infant Ailments," n.d.

"Nursing and Artificial Food of Young Children," n.d.

"Convulsions," n.d.

"Diphtheria," n.d.

"The Child's First Year," n.d.

"Disease of the Air Passages," n.d.

Introduction to Diseases of Children, January 13, 1893

[illegible]; Peritonitis; The Tongue; Dysentery; Intestinal Hemorrhage; Intestinal Obstruction, January 15, 1887

"Indigestion," n.d.

[illegible] January 13, 1896

"New Born Children," 1880; 1884

"Small Pox," November 1886