Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Dale M. Bentz
RG 99.0299
Collection Dates: 1937-2012
Bulk: 1953-1986
4.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to University Archives during June-August 1986 and January 2011 by Dale M. Bentz.  Finding aid posted to the Internet February 2011.

Photographs: Box 10;   Box 11;  Box 12;   Oversize box 1

Dale M. Bentz, 1985

Dale M. Bentz, 1985

Scope and Contents

These papers document the 33-year career of Dale M. Bentz in the field of library administration at the State University of Iowa.  Bentz was active in professional and community activities, and evidence of these activities is preserved here for researchers, divided into professional, university, and community activities. The largest series, correspondence, is separated into personal and professional, with both arranged chronologically.

Other series are writings, speeches, clippings, subject files, biographical material, and a scrapbook of clippings, certificates, and photographs.  Each line in the box list represents one folder, with the date range of the material noted.  

Biographical Note

Dale Monroe Bentz was born January 3, 1919, in York County, Pennsylvania. He received the B. A. degree in teaching from Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania in 1939.  He received the B. S. in library science at the University of North Carolina in 1940, where he met his future wife, Mary Gail Menius, and where he began his career in the Periodicals Department during the summer of 1940.  Dale and Mary Gail were married in June 1942.  At that time, Bentz worked in the library at Duke University.  In November 1942, Bentz  began military service in Denver, Colorado, as administrative officer in the U. S. Army Air Corps.  After he was discharged in 1946, he worked at East Carolina Teachers College (now East Carolina University).  Bentz received the M. S. degree from the University of Illinois in 1951.

Following graduation, Bentz worked as head of the Processing Department at the University of Tennessee.  He was appointed associate director at the State University of Iowa Library on June 1, 1953.  He was named University Librarian July 1, 1970, a position he held until his retirement on August 31, 1986.

Bentz was active on University committees and in professional associations, including the Iowa Library Association, where he served as president from 1959 to 1960.  He served a number of years in several positions at the American Library Association, most notably as director of the Research Libraries Division.  He was named president of the Resources and Technical Services Division of ALA from 1975 to 1976.  Bentz was president of ACRL's University Libraries Section from 1963 to 1964. Bentz was charter member of Beta Phi Mu, the international library science honor society, and was inducted at the University of Illinois in 1951. Bentz wrote and presented on new directions for research libraries.  He brought William Anthony, fine binder, to the University of Iowa Libraries, who worked to establish the Libraries' Conservation Department.

Other University activities include work with the University of Iowa Foundation during the formative years in the 1950s, as well as with the University of Iowa Alumni Association.  Bentz served a term as chair of the Board of Trustees of Student Publications, Inc., from 1965 to 1967.  He served as president of the Triangle Club (formerly the men's faculty club) and served on fund-raising committees to remodel Iowa Hall and for the Museum of Art.  Bentz was also a member of Faculty Senate from 1968 to 1971.

Within the Iowa City community, Bentz helped found Goodwill Industries of Southeast Iowa and served as vice president 1966 to 1969.  He was a member of the Iowa City Board of Education for six years, and president 1962 to 1963.  After his retirement, one of his many activities was to deliver meals to homes through Johnson County Senior Dining/Home Delivered Meals.  Active in his church, Bentz was president of the congregation when the Old First English Lutheran Church, which was located at the corner of Market and Dubuque streets, was destroyed by an arsonist.  This led to leadership positions in raising funds for a new church.  Bentz served several terms on the church council and was president of the council when the church was named Gloria Dei Lutheran.  A complete listing of Bentz's activities may be found in the biographical series of the Bentz papers, as well as in his Faculty Vertical File.

Dale and Mary Gail Bentz have two sons, Dale Flynn, and Thomas, and one daughter, Carol.

Related Materials

Folder, "Bentz, Dale M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Bentz, Dale M. Reflections On a Lifetime. Iowa City: Maecenas Press, 1990.

Dale M. Bentz.  A scrapbook of letters gathered from colleagues and friends at Bentz's retirement and placed in a full goatskin designer binding by William Anthony, 1986. Special Collections, xfZ269.3.F55A5 v.31

Hamilton, Virginia. In the Beginning: Creation Stories from Around the World. San Diego : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1988. Told by Virginia Hamilton; illustrated by Barry Moser. Presented to Dale M. Bentz by President Hunter Rawlings at the annual Friends Dinner celebrating the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Friends of the University Libraries. Special Collections, xBL226.H35 1988 cop.2

Records of the University Libraries (RG 21.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Professional Correspondence, 1950-1978

Box 2

Professional Correspondence, 1979-1983

Box 3

Professional Correspondence, 1984-1987

Box 4

Personal Correspondence, 1950-1960

Box 5

Personal Correspondence, 1960-1967

Box 6

Personal Correspondence, 1967-1974

Box 7

Personal Correspondence, 1974-1981

Box 8

Personal Correspondence

----. 1981-1990.

----. 1991-2008.

Box 9

Professional Activities

----. Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

--------. Recruiting Committee, 1947-1956

------------. Pamphlets

------------. Articles

------------. Bulletins

------------. Correspondence

--------. Bentz presentation, 1955

--------. Officers and committees, 1963-1964

--------. Constitution and bylaws correspondence, 1956-1958

--------. Committee appointments, correspondence, minutes, 1961-1962

--------. Board of Directors correspondence, 1962-1965.


Box 10

Professional Activities, cont.

----. American Library Association (ALA)

--------. Montreal meeting, photograph of award presentation to Ruth MacDonald, 1960

--------. Cataloging and Classification Section (CCS), correspondence, committee roster, 1963-1964

--------. Division of Cataloging and Classification (DCC), Questionnaire results, correspondence, 1953-1958

--------. Statistics Committee for College and University Libraries, correspondence, 1959-1962

--------. Resources and Technical Services Division (RTSD)

------------. Program Committee, correspondence, 1956-1957

------------. Nominating Committee, history, correspondence, 1958-1959

------------. Organization Committee, correspondence, 1959-1961

------------. Resources Committee, correspondence, 1963-1965

------------. Annual report, correspondence, 1976

--------. Notes of congratulations, 1974

--------. Presidents and conference, meetings attended, inaugural luncheon program, 1975-1986

--------. Bentz biographical information, 1974-1978

----. Beta Phi Mu, news release and clipping during Bentz presidency of the society, 1966-1967

----. Conferences, programs and news release, 1955-1975

----. Freedom To Read Foundation charter membership, 1969

----. Iowa Library Association (ILA)

--------. Service as president, clippings, intinerary, program, 1956-1957

--------. Centennial Committee, minutes, correspondence, 1987-1989

----. Kappa Phi Kappa, National Education Fraternity, photocopy of certificate of membership, history, 1937

----. Midwest Academic Librarians Conference (MALC), program, correspondence, 1963

----. National Library Week Steering Committee certificate of recognition, 1960

Box 11

University Activities

----. Alumni Association reunion program, list of attendees, flyers, 1963.

----. Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award correspondence, clipping, luncheon program, June 3, 1989.

----. Dad's Association correspondence, 1963.

----. Faculty Senate correspondence, 1968.

----. Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries

--------. Correspondence, 1955-1959.

--------. Four Tales, à la carte, by chef Louis Szathmary, Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries, inscribed. 1986.

----. Graduate College Faculty Minutes, presentation by Bentz, 1955.

----. Iowa Hall campaign, correspondence, 1982.

----. Special Collections tour, photograph of Dr. Hans Ehrenhaft, Dale Bentz, and Darrell Wyrick, n.d.

----. Triangle Club, programs, 1953, 1967.

----. Letters of appreciation, 1986-2012.

----. The Unofficial Guide to the University of Iowa, listing Bentz and seven other administrators in a positive light [late 1960s?]

----. Vino Club

--------. History, including biographical note of founder, Louane L. Newsome.

--------. Photographs.

Community Activities

----. Establishing Goodwill Industries of Southeast Iowa, annual report, 1967.

----. Gloria Dei Lutheran Church fundraising committee letter of appreciation, 1983.

----. Iowa City Public Information Committee correspondence, 1958.

----. Johnson County Senior Dining/Home Delivered Meals pamphlet, late 1980s to mid-1990s.

----. School Study Council correspondence, 1958.

----. United Way correspondence, clipping, certificates of appreciation, 1993-1999.

----. Clippings of Bentz activities, 1956-2006.

----. Clippings, president of Iowa City school board, 1960-2002.


----. 1955-1971.

----. "The Test of Life," n.d.

----. U. S. Army-Iowa Science, Engineering, and Humanities Symposium, 1968.


----. Bentz, Dale M. "Frank Paluka: A Tribute." Books at Iowa 45 (November 1986):3-4.

----. Manuscript, "Reclassification and Recataloging," 1953.


Box 12

Writings, cont.

----. Manuscript, “Reflections on a Lifetime,” two folders.

----. "Survey of the Catalog Department, University of Colorado Libraries," 1959.

----. "The Teaching Function of the University Library." Library Science class paper, 1951.

Subject Files

----. Clippings, programs, bulletins, 1941-1987.

----. Author Richard Armour, including photograph, n.d.

----. Earl Shaffer correspondence, clippings, 2001-2003.

----. Research on speech writing, 1949-1971.

Gettysburg College, correspondence from Gettysburg president Henry W. A. Hanson congratulating Bentz on receiving an N. Y. A. job,1936.

University of Illinois News Letter, 1987.

University of North Carolina, invitation, 1952.

Duke University Library invitation to reception for Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Edward Powell, August 23.

University of Tennessee

----. Invitation issued by Bentz as Chairman of the University of Tennessee Library Lecture Series, 1950

----. Correspondence regarding Bentz ALA position (1950) and promotion to Assistant Professor and Head of Processing at the University of Tennesse Library (1951).

----. Invitation to twenty-third annual library lecture, presented by Dr. Arthur McAnally, April 20, 1971.

State University of Iowa

----. Associate Director appointment, 1953.

----. University Librarian appointment, 1970.

----. Retirement, 1986.

----. Retirement photographs, 1986.

----. Retirement congratulations from Desmond Leigh Hunt (nephew of poet Leigh Hunt), 1986.

Job opportunities

----. 1951-1978.

----. University of Tennessee offer, 1970.

Iowa Social Register, 1965-1966.

Vita, 1972.

Who's Who in America, 1968-.

Oversize box 1

Scrapbook of Dale M. and Mary Gail Bentz

Dale M. Bentz Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, April 29, 1994

University of Tennessee Library Lectures. no. 1-3, 1949-1950

University of Iowa Foundation 40th anniversary coaster, 1996

Scrapbook of reading list by Mary Gail, 1940

Certificate of Appreciation awarded to Mary Gail by Old Capitol Volunteer Program, 1977

Correspondence from Mercy Hospital to Mary Gail regarding the donation of her water color paintings, April 2012

Parody of "'Twas the Night Before Christmas," by Mary Gail, 1941

The Ginko Leaf Collection, by Oaknoll Poetry Group, 2002

The Leaflet, Oaknoll employee newsletter, including biographical sketch of Mary Gail, March 2011

Cards bearing reproductions of artwork by Mary Gail, 1970-1997, n.d.

Color contact sheets of photographs of watercolor prints by Mary Gail, n.d.

Iowa City Parks and Recreation Department events publication, with cover art by Mary Gail, Winter-Spring 1995

Twenty Years: The Print and Drawing Study Club, with history by Mary Gail, 1994

Two examples of Japanese brush paintings by Mary Gail