Pauline Cook Papers
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created November 2008.
Unpublished manuscript by Pauline Cook Hall, 1950
Scope and Contents
The Pauline Cook Papers include her Ph.D. dissertation and unpublished manuscripts. Her dissertation, "A Bibliography of Spanish Linguistics: Articles in Serial Publications," was published by the Linguistic Society of America in 1957.
Pauline Cook was born in 1913. She received her B.A. in 1934 and her B.S. in 1935 from the University of Minnesota. Ms. Cook worked in the University of Iowa Libraries for 15 years. She was hired as an assistant in the Reference Department in 1937 and was promoted to librarian of the Foreign Language Library in 1940, the same year she received her master's degree in English. Pauline Cook married during the 1940s and thereafter wrote under the name Pauline Cook Hall. She received her Ph.D. in linguistics in June 1949. She was promoted in 1951 to head of the Reference Department. Pauline Cook Hall left Iowa City for Philadelphia in 1952 and died November 22, 1965, in Philadelphia. She was buried in Albia, Iowa.
[D. Anderson; 11/2008]
Folder, "Cook, Pauline," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Records of the University Libraries (RG 21.01)
Box Contents List
"A Bibliography of Spanish Linguistics: Articles in Serial Publications, 1887-1947," typescript, State University of Iowa dissertation, 1949
"Iowa County Place Names," typescript, 1952
"Indian Place Names of Iowa," typescript, 1952
"Iowa Place Names of Foreign Origin," The Modern Language Journal 29, no.7, (November 1945), typescript
"History of Names of Iowa's Counties," typescript
"The Pathless Grove: Sonnets of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, 1651-1695," typescript, 1950
"Juana Inés de la Cruz," typescript of translated sonnets, 1952
"Some Sonnets of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, 1651-1695," typescript, 1952
Mailing lists, 1954