Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Emory Warner
RG 99.0331
Collection Dates: 1925-1987
1.25 linear ft..

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to University Archives from the Department of Pathology in May 2001, accession #2001-15.  Guide posted to the Internet in March 2011.

Photographs: Box 1

Dr. Emory Warner, May 1969.

Dr. Emory Warner, May 1969.

Scope and Contents

The Emory Warner papers are correspondence, writings, and newspaper clippings regarding his medical career as professor and head of the Pathology & Bacteriology Department at the State University of Iowa from 1930 to 1973. 

Correspondence includes a letter from Dr. Earl F. Rose, dated March 16, 1970, to the president of the College of American Pathologists regarding assassinations.

Warner's scrapbook pages include newspaper clippings, fraternity memberships, Warner's medical exam rating, and early appointment letters.  One clipping announced the WSUI broadcast on Founder's Day, February 25, 1939.

The records of the Tyro Club and the Iliad Fliers, dated 1946 to 1975, include insurance receipts and bank statements, receipts for purchase of aircraft, and correspondence with the Department of Transportation Aeronautics Division of Arizona, Oklahoma, and Iowa.  One fellow enthusiast, photographer Frederick W. Kent, corresponded in 1974.

Biographical Note

Emory Dean Warner was born July 5, 1905 in North English, Iowa, where he graduated from high school.  Warner served in the U. S. Army Infantry from 1922 to 1925.  He received the B.S. degree in 1927 and the M.D. in 1929, both at the State University of Iowa. From 1929 to 1930, Warner made his residency at the University of Rochester.

Warner returned to SUI in 1930 to serve as assistant in the Pathology and Bacteriology Department and as instructor in 1931.  He was named assistant professor in 1934 and associate professor in 1938.  Warner was made full professor and head of pathology in 1945.  He stepped down as head in 1970 and took a leave of absence for health reasons.  He accepted a faculty appointment at the University of Arizona for one year, before returning to the University of Iowa.  He retired in 1973.  Dr. Warner collaborated in publishing numerous articles about blood clotting and vitamin K therapy.

Warner served as president of the Tyro Club, as well as the Iliad Fliers -- two groups of aviation enthusiasts.  He was a member of the American Medical Political Action Committee, Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society, Iowa Medical Society, and American Society of Clinical Pathologists.  He was also an avid hunter.

In June 1930, Warner married Irene Ketchum, a 1928 SUI graduate in sociology.  The Warner's had three daughters, Carmen, Carol, and Helen.  Emory Warner died November 22, 1982.

[D. Anderson; 03/2011]

Related Materials

Folder, "Warner, Emory Dean," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Smith, Henry Pratt," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Brinkhous, Kenneth Merle" Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Randall, William L." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Seegers, Walter Henry." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Flynn, Joseph E." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Stamler, Frederic William." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Elmer DeGowin and the DeGowin Blood Center (RG 99.0320)

Papers of Robert C. Hardin (RG 99.0277)

Papers of Earl F. Rose (MsC 860)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Military training certificate, 1925

Hunting club memberships, 1973-1974

Family member, 1971

Right of Way sale of family land in Iowa County, Iowa, 1948-1974

Hanging Rock Woods, Inc., property taxes and insurance paid by doctors E. D. Warner and George R. Zimmerman in 1969-1970

Personal correspondence, 1954-1987

Department of Pathology research support, 1969-1975



Armstrong, Mark L., 1971

Newspaper clippings, 1944-1971

Scrapbook pages, 1926-1939


Group at Gothic tower of General Hospital, [1933?]

Group in Memphis, 1937

Group at Gothic tower of General Hospital, n.d.

Department of Pathology faculty at Gothic tower of General Hospital, 1971

Warner's induction into Pathology Professor's Council, 1980

College of Medicine convocations, 1966-1970

Pamphlets, 1939-1968

Box 2

Correspondence on animal testing, 1956-1958

Professional correspondence



Report of the UI Appointments Committee, 1971

Position at University of Arizona, 1970-1975

Midwest Pathology Chairmen meeting, n.d.

Symposium in Birmingham on clinical aspects of vitamin K, 1940

Cambridge Congress, International Society of Hematology, 1950

Physiological Congress, Copenhagen, 1950

Committee work, symposiums, and membership in professional societies, 1954-1979

Conference on thrombosis and embolism, Basel, Switzerland, 1954

Fund-raising for the University of Iowa Health Sciences Library, 1968

Letters of reference, 1971




Subject file

Writings of colleagues, 1939-1959

Cartoons, jokes, articles, poetry, n.d.

Memberships in medical societies, 1970-1976

Box 3

Tyro Club, 1946-1970

Department of Transportation of Iowa, Arizona, and Oklahoma, 1971-1974

Internal Revenue Service correspondence with clubs, 1973-1974

Correspondence of clubs

1971, 1975

Frederick W. Kent, 1969, 1971, 1974

Insurance receipts, 1970-1973

Bank account records for Tyro Club and Iliad Fliers, 1970-1973

Iowa City Flying Service statements, 1953-1974

Avra Valley Air, Inc., records of payments to, 1972-1975

Service letter #601 for Piper aircraft, 1972

W. O. Smith company, Marion, Iowa, aircraft repair, 1974-1975

Membership application for Texas aviation club, International Order of Flight Commanders Piper J-3 Cubs, 1974

Charts and graphs, n.d.

Aviation merchandise, 1971-1974