Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Shambaugh Family Papers:
Bertha Shambaugh Manuscripts

RG 99.0152
Collection Dates: 1888-1908
0.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008.

Photographs: None









Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page

Box Contents List

Box 13

"The acorns’ jubilee," in the Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X:8 (October 2, 1899), page 6 (published)

James J. Aldous, florist, for Iowa City paper

Almost a ghost story

"Amana Colony: a glimpse of the community of True Inspiration," (appeared in Midland 1896), (original)

"The Amana Community," for the Dictionary of American History

The Amana Society

"Amana Society," proof for Encyclopedia of Religion, Scotland

"The Amana Society," in The World To-Day,  vol III: No 4 (October 1902), pages 1899 -- 1907

"An aquarium," in The Churchman, vol. LXXX: no 4 (July 29, 1899), pages 125 -- 126 (published)

A birthday centerpiece

"Bumblebees and red clover," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 5 (August 15, 1899), page 9 (published)

Cock-a-low-dum, includes illustrations, 1901

"A cubic foot of earth," in The Midland Monthly, vol 8: no 1 (July 1897), pages 36 -- 39 (published)

The evolution of birds, paper with drawings, February 27, 1888

"Fondly on the past I dwell," in Red and White, vol III: no 1 (Thanksgiving Number), pages 28 -- 30 (published)

"The glory of Amana has not departed," reply to article in Des Moines Register

The Iowa crossroad, verses

An Iowa Lemon tree

Iowa Territorial Centennial Memorial Stamp

"Edith Ball Macbride," for the Arrow, official organ of Pi Beta Phi Sorority

Mazzuchelli notes

"Christian Metz," for the Dictionary of American History

The midnight ride of Philip Clark

Natural Science in the high school
, Pedagogical Seminary, State University of Iowa, 1896

"Ned - a volunteer’s dog," in The Interior, vol XXIX: no 1487 (November 24, 1898), page 1450 (published)

"Old Tom: a turtle story," in Our Animal Friends, vol  XXV: no 7 (March 1898), pages 152 -- 155 (published)

"On nature books," in the Iowa Library Quarterly, vol 5: no 16 (October -- December 1908), pages 241 -- 244. (2 published copies)

"One of the mothers of Iowa," Lydia Bristol Kimball for an Iowa City paper

"Organized speaking in Iowa during the war," in Iowa and War,  no 17 (November 1918) (published)

"Mabel M. Foster Peet," for the Arrow, official organ of Pi Beta Phi Sorority

Herbert Quick, reviews and article

"Julia Ellen Rogers," for the Arrow, official organ Pi Beta Phi Sorority

"Some of the economic and industrial phases of the Amana Society or the Community of True Inspiration," pages 498 -- 512

Tale of the bumblebees

"Three Hickory nuts," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 4 (August 1, 1899), page 9 (published)

"Two cottonwood buds," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, (April 15, 1899), page 7 (published)

Ulmuss Americana: (s) American or White elm, April 15, 1890, including illustrations

"A vegetable tramp: the story of the milkweed," in The World To-day, vol V: no 1 (July 1903), pages 912 -- 916

"A western cross-road," in The Illustrated Youth and Age, vol X: no 4 (August 1, 1899), pages 1 -- 2