Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Shambaugh Family Papers:
Bertha Shambaugh Speeches

RG 99.0152
Collection Dates: 1887-1928
0.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008.

Photographs: None









Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page

Box Contents List

Box 13

The Amana Community, given at the Unitarian Sunday School

Amana, notes for story of, told with pictures

The anatomy of an insect, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations, September 19, 1887

The animal kingdom as related to geology, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations (apparently not complete) January 10,1887

Episodes in the early history of Iowa City

History of the Erodelphian Society, several revisions given at different times

The founding of Iowa City

Box 14

The great change at Amana

The great change at Amana, an author’s reading, November 12, 1933, University Club, responding to first pressure after appearance of the second Amana book

Iowa City and legend on map of 1854

Katydids and crickets, Agassiz Association paper with illustrations, November 21, 1887

Lepidoptera, read before the Iowa State Assembly of the Agassiz Association with illustrations, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, August 21-23, 1888. Including copy of The Swiss Cross, IV:5 (November 1888) which mentions this paper

The origin and spirit of Christmas

Radio talks, several, all on subject of Amana

The railroad reaches Iowa City


The Spiritual Amen

Staff dinner talk, January 29, 1928

Trifles, Original copy high school graduation “Oration” and Valedictory, June 7, 1889, Iowa City High School, including copy of The Commentator IV:10/11 (June 14, 1889), pages 2 -- 3

At the grave of Juan Valdez,

Welcoming Mrs. Jessup as honorary member of the University Club

When Iowa City was young

after dinner talk All University Women’s Dinner, June 27 [?]

Whitby - several items given at